LibGuides: Racism in Medicine and Healthcare: The Holocaust & Antisemitism

About this page

Resources on this page were researched and compiled by Kirk Kerkorian School of Medicine at UNLV medical students for a Holocaust Survivor event held February 16, 2024.

Holocaust history and physicians

Explore the following resources to learn more about the history and impact of the Holocaust, as well as the role of doctors and nurses.

Yad Vashem Collections
Digital archival collections from Yad Vashem - the world Holocaust remembrance center.
U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum
Digital archival collections about doctors and nurses during the Holocaust
Echoes & Reflections
Bioethics and the Holocaust
Part of the USC Shoah Foundation's iWitness program.
Visual History Archive
The USC Shoah Foundation's Visual History Archive contains more than 55,000 video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide, crimes against humanity, and related persecution.
Sperling Kronberg Mack Holocaust Resource Center
The Sperling Kronberg Mack Holocaust Resource Center serves the community and multiple educational institutions, highlighting Holocaust awareness and offering a variety of learning opportunities.

Medical experimentation and Nazi doctors

Explore the resources in this section to learn more about the role of physicians and nurses in perpetrating medical experimentation and genocide on Jewish and other "unfit" people during the Holocaust.

List of known Nazi doctors
From Wikipedia
Josef Mengele
From Holocaust Encyclopedia
Nazi Dr. Josef Mengele
From Candles Museum and Holocaust Education Center
Other doctor-perpetrators
From the Auschwitz-Birkenau Memorial and Museum
Nazi medical experiments
From the Holocaust Encyclopedia
Doctors were complicit in Holocaust atrocities
Opinion article from Stat
Doctors from hell: The horrific account of Nazi experiments on humans
Book review published in the journal of clinical investigation
Holocaust on trial: The experiments
Descriptions of known medical experiments performed on Jewish people and prisoners from PBS's NOVA series.
We Remember: The Doctors of the Holocaust
Blog post from Himmelfarb Library discussing both Nazi doctor atrocities and Jewish doctor resistance.
German doctors and the final solution
This is a digitized version of an article from The Times’s print archive
Nazi medical experiments - photograph
A media essay from the Holocaust Encyclopedia
The Holocaust, medicine and becoming a physician: the crucial role of education
Perspective article from the Israel journal of health policy research
The Nazi Doctors: Medical Killing and the Psychology of Genocide
Book review in JAMA

The Nazi Doctors by Robert Jay Lifton
ISBN: 9780465049059
Publication Date: 1988
Click title to be taken to ebook.
Renowned psychiatrist Robert Jay Lifton presents a brilliant analysis of the crucial role that German doctors played in the Nazi genocide.

Researcher illuminates a Jewish doctor’s Holocaust experiences
Article in Yale News
Medical experiments
A media essay from the Holocaust Encyclopedia
The role of doctors and nurses
Article from the Holocaust Encyclopedia
Personal statements from victims of Nazi medical experiments
...Testimonies of living individuals who were subjected to Nazi medical experiments and who were identified by the Conference on Jewish Material Claims Against Germany (Claims Conference).
Medical experiments
from the Auschwitz-Birkenau Memorial and Museum
Doctors of the Holocaust: An Examination of Both SS and Prisoner Doctors
Undergraduate honors capstone from Grand Valley State University
The Doctors trial: The medical case of the subsequent Nuremberg proceedings
from the Holocaust Encyclopedia
Why we must teach medical students about the role of physicians during the Holocaust
Viewpoint article in AAMC News

Racism in Medicine and Healthcare

About this page

Holocaust history and physicians

Medical experimentation and Nazi doctors

Locations

Contact