LibGuides: Mathematics: Getting Started

Melissa Bowles-Terry, Science Librarian

Melissa Bowles-Terry

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

melissa.bowles-terry@unlv.edu

702-895-2121

Subjects: Chemistry & Biochemistry, Geoscience, Life Sciences, Mathematics, Physics & Astronomy, Science

Welcome! This guide is a starting point for your mathematics information needs. Find articles, reports, books, and data.

STARTING POINTS

MathSciNet
Good for: Researching mathematical sciences.
Contains: Index of scholarly information.
Dates covered: 1864-present.

When trying to access the full-text of an article, click the Get Text button rather than the PDF link (which will take you to a PDF version of the bibliographic record).

arxIV.org e-prints
arXiv is an open access database of over 1,757,455 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Materials on this site are not peer-reviewed by arXiv. Check out the math specific section to see what areas this resource covers.

IEEE Xplore
Good for: Accessing scholarly and technical materials about electrical engineering and computer science.
Contains: Articles from journals and conferences, magazines, and standards documents.
Dates covered: 1884-present.

Provides access to almost a third of the world's current electrical engineering, telecommunications, power, and computer science literature. Full-text access to all IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, conference proceedings, and all current IEEE standards.

UNLV Libraries Quick Search

Quick Search
Search for journal and newspaper articles, books and other materials including media

The UNLV Libraries Quick Search tool will search many of our article databases as well as our catalog of books, videos, datasets, and other materials. It can also search the internet for additional materials we do not own, but that you may be able to access through the Link+ book borrowing system or through InterLibrary Loan. This search tool is found on the Libaries' home page library.unlv.edu .

Access your library accounts

Your library account
Log in with your barcode, last name and PIN to view items you have checked out or waiting to be picked up.

more... less...

Track books requested from LINK+ here too

InterLibrary Loan (ILLiad)
Request books and articles that UNLV does not own. You can also request a pdf copy of print-only articles and chapters from print books that UNLV owns.

Mathematics

Melissa Bowles-Terry, Science Librarian

STARTING POINTS

UNLV Libraries Quick Search

Access your library accounts

Locations

Contact