LibGuides: Mathematics: Finding Articles & Databases

Melissa Bowles-Terry, Science Librarian

Melissa Bowles-Terry

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

melissa.bowles-terry@unlv.edu

702-895-2121

Subjects: Chemistry & Biochemistry, Geoscience, Life Sciences, Mathematics, Physics & Astronomy, Science

Use the databases below to search the scientific literature. Read the description to find ones that meet your information need. Be curious, explore, and dive in!

MATHEMATICS DATABASES

MathSciNet
Good for: Researching mathematical sciences.
Contains: Index of scholarly information.
Dates covered: 1864-present.

When trying to access the full-text of an article, click the Get Text button rather than the PDF link (which will take you to a PDF version of the bibliographic record).

arXiv.org
Open access versions of thousands of papers in the areas of Physics, Astronomy, Mathematics, and Computer Science
Jahrbuch Database: Electronic Research Archive for Mathematics (ERAM)
This database is a free archive of mathematical publications at the Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek Göttingen and based on Jahrbuch über die Fortschritte der Mathematik (1868-1942).
Zentralblatt MATH (zbMATH)
Zentralblatt MATH (zbMATH) is an alternative database for pure and applied mathematics. Free access is limited to 3 results, and filter functions are disabled.
American Mathematical Society: Open Math Notes
AMS Open Math Notes is a repository of freely downloadable mathematical works in progress hosted by the American Mathematical Society. These draft works include course notes, textbooks, and research expositions in progress. These are working documents still under revision and are published elsewhere.These materials are good teaching and research aids. Feel free to send constructive comments and suggestions to the authors.
Project EUCLID
Project Euclid is an online hosting platform for small scholarly publishers of mathematics and statistics journals managed by Cornell University Library and Duke University Press. started with a The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, and is now jointly managed by the Cornell Library and Duke University Press. Over 70% of the journal articles hosted on Project Euclid are openly available. As of 2018, Project Euclid hosts 1.8 million pages of open-access content.

MATHEMATICS RELATED DATABASES

Scopus
Good for: Researching peer-reviewed scientific, medical, technical, and social science literature.
Contains: Index to literature.
Dates covered: 1960-present.

Scopus also features a citation index, allowing you to find the papers that cite a specific piece of research.
ScienceDirect Journals
Good for: Researching social science, medicine, science, and technology.
Contains: Journals.
Web of Science
Good for: Researching a wide range of topics in science, social science, arts, and humanities.
Contains: Citations to scholarly journal articles and conference papers.
Dates covered: 1900-present.

Web of Science is a platform for Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts and Humanities Index, Journal Citation Reports, Biological Abstracts, MEDLINE, and Inspec.
Help?
IEEE Xplore
Good for: Accessing scholarly and technical materials about electrical engineering and computer science.
Contains: Articles from journals and conferences, magazines, and standards documents.
Dates covered: 1884-present.

Provides access to almost a third of the world's current electrical engineering, telecommunications, power, and computer science literature. Full-text access to all IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, conference proceedings, and all current IEEE standards.
ACM Digital Library
Good for: Accessing articles on computer engineering and computer science.
Contains: Citations and articles from ACM journals, magazines, and conference proceedings.
Dates covered: 1947-present.

Expand your search to the larger ACM Guide to Computing Literature and use the UNLV Find Text button to request the full text.

Mathematics

Melissa Bowles-Terry, Science Librarian

MATHEMATICS DATABASES

MATHEMATICS RELATED DATABASES

Locations

Contact