LibGuides: Hospitality Graduate Student Resources: Literature Review Resources

Literature Review Resources

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window 1923- Articles and reports in advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers and information on 25 million companies.
- This link opens in a new window
Update frequency: Updated weekly
Scope: International
Languages: English
Primarily a database for retrieving journal articles but allows for searching by company in the advanced search section. The ABI/INFORM Complete database offers searchable full text of more than 6,800 of the leading business and management journals in North America and the world. Coverage is international and includes advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Also compiles information on 25 million companies!
Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window Scholarly journals and business periodicals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, and international business along with company profiles and SWOT analyses.
- This link opens in a new window
The database also includes company profiles of the world’s 10,000 largest companies providing SWOT analysis for many companies.
Emerald Library This link opens in a new window Includes over 200 full text journals consisting of the Emerald Management 175 Collection and the Emerald Engineering Collection .
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered are management, marketing, human resources, production & economics, operations, library & information services, information management, training & education, and engineering.
Hospitality & Tourism Complete This link opens in a new window 1960- Full text of articles about hotel management, food service and beverage management, travel and tourism, event management, gaming, international cuisine, law, market trends, research and more
- This link opens in a new window
Hospitality & Tourism Complete is a database covering scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. Full-text coverage of over 200 publications that include the subject areas of hotel management, food service and beverage management, travel and tourism, event management, gaming, international cuisine, law, market trends, research and more.
ScienceDirect Journals This link opens in a new window Nearly 2,000 full text Elsevier journals covering the areas of social science, medicine, science, and technology with deep backfiles for more than 1600 journals.
- This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window 1975- Journal articles and more about all aspects of sports, physical education and sports medicine. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
- This link opens in a new window
Update frequency: quarterly
An international database indexing journal articles, books, conference proceedings, research papers, and dissertations and theses in sports medicine, biomechanics, psychology, coaching, physical education and fitness, training, and other related topics. Includes access to the full text of more than 230 journals
SpringerLINK This link opens in a new window Scholarly journals in sciences, law and economics.
- This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink is divided into the fields of life sciences, chemical sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics and astronomy, engineering, environmental sciences, law, and economics. The SpringerLink service contains approximately 1900 scholarly journals.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window International scientific, technical, and medical journals.
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary collection of about 1500 full text scholarly journals, Wiley Online Library covers the disciplines of life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities with deep backfiles. More than four million articles are available.

D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window This global business information database contains current public and private company information, SWOT analyses, market report, company news, financial information and executive profiles.
- This link opens in a new window
It is updated monthly. Select International Businesses from the drop-down menu or on the column on the left to begin a search.
Factiva This link opens in a new window 1950s - present Access is limited to 6 simultaneous users. Continuously updated news and business information from major news sources.
- This link opens in a new window
This database combines over 30,000 sources from 200 countries, in 28 languages. Users have access to a wide range of information from newspapers, newswires, industry publications, websites, company reports, and more. The broad range of content provides both local insight and global perspective on business issues and current events – especially with regard to research requiring current information on companies, industries, and financial markets.
Global Data Intelligence Center This link opens in a new window In order to access the content, click on the "Click Here" link next to the "If you have IP Access" to enter the database. This database provides access to the Travel & Tourism Global Data Intelligence Center and contains market data and insights into the global travel and tourism market with travel and tourism market data and analysis, consumer surveys, along with industry information on key companies, markets, projects, and financial deals.
- This link opens in a new window
Historical Annual Reports This link opens in a new window 1884- Corporate annual reports from 1884 to 2008.
- This link opens in a new window
Update frequency: annual
A rich source for scholars in business, economics, and history, this collection of annual reports for 800 U.S. companies dating from 1884 to 2008 provides information on companies, including financial performance, key officers, competitors, and market trends.
Morningstar Investment Research Center This link opens in a new window Provides research on more than 30,000 stocks, mutual funds, and exchange-traded funds (ETFs) and provides screening tools and data points to build portfolios.
- This link opens in a new window
Furnishes analysts' reports to analyze funds, stocks, and ETFs. Provides current and historical performances for stock indexes, industries, sectors, and fund categories. Returns are updated daily.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Searchable published news, legal, medical and business information.
- This link opens in a new window
The news section delivers the full text of international, national and regional newspapers along with wire services, broadcast transcripts, magazines, and non-English language sources. The legal section contains U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews and international legal information. This includes Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789. The medical section supplies information from news and medical journals, and provides abstracts to medical news from Medline. The business section includes business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.
PrivCo This link opens in a new window To use the database, please create an account using your UNLV email address. The PrivCo database is the source for business and financial research on non-publicly traded corporations, including family-owned, private equity-owned, venture-backed and international unlisted companies.
- This link opens in a new window
It contains profiles for over 900,000 firms, 20,000 investors and 100,000 private market deals that are updated daily. Whether doing company, investor, M&A, venture capital funding, or private equity research, PrivCo is searchable by advanced criteria in all categories.
Value Line Research Center This link opens in a new window Good for: Researching stocks, special situation stocks, mutual funds, options, and convertible securities.Contains: Reports, commentaries and data from Value Line Pro Premium,  Analyst covered, Small- & mid-cap featured, and Dow 30 
- This link opens in a new window
Publications include The Value Line Investment Survey, The Value Line Mutual Fund Survey, The Value Line Daily Options Survey, The Value Line Special situations Service, The Value Line Convertibles Survey, Exchange Traded Funds (ETFs).
WRDS This link opens in a new window Limited to UNLV affiliated users. Users must request an account.The Wharton Research Data Service provides World Wide Web access to CRSP, ISSM and Global Insight (Basic Economics).
- This link opens in a new window

eMarketer This link opens in a new window eMarketer provides analysis, market data, and statistics on the Internet, e-commerce, online marketing, social media, and emerging digital technologies around the world.
- This link opens in a new window
eMarketer This link opens in a new window eMarketer provides analysis, market data, and statistics on the Internet, e-commerce, online marketing, social media, and emerging digital technologies around the world.
- This link opens in a new window
Gambling Compliance Online This link opens in a new window The GamblingCompliance database contains detailed access to gaming news, analysis, regulatory research, data forecasts and more. UNLV students and staff should schedule an appointment with Lateka Grays (http://bit.ly/hosplibcal) to access content for your research.
- This link opens in a new window
It covers more than 150 global jurisdictions and 40 U.S. states, mapping key industry topics such as taxation, online and land-based licensing, and player protection requirements, etc., including the ability to create custom reports from the data.
Global Data Intelligence Center This link opens in a new window In order to access the content, click on the "Click Here" link next to the "If you have IP Access" to enter the database. This database provides access to the Travel & Tourism Global Data Intelligence Center and contains market data and insights into the global travel and tourism market with travel and tourism market data and analysis, consumer surveys, along with industry information on key companies, markets, projects, and financial deals.
- This link opens in a new window
Global Gaming Almanac This link opens in a new window 2002- From a synopsis of each jurisdiction's gaming activities to details on the participating properties and property owners, the Global Gaming Almanac provides a complete and well-organized overview of the gambling market in every country outside the U.S. and Canada.
- This link opens in a new window
Additionally, the Global Gaming interactive analysis tool with location and statistical data for all gaming properties outside the U.S. and Canada. Use the analyzer tool for custom gaming property marketplace analysis by geographic area and by type of gaming facility. It also includes: interactive global gaming property maps displaying the locations of every gaming property outside the U.S. and Canada, more than 1,400 annual reports covering international (non U.S. and Canadian) gaming businesses that publish their financial results, and global regulatory agency and commission directory with contact data for 250 regulatory agencies and commissions around the world (outside the US and Canada) with website and e-mail addresses, agency or commission contact names and titles.
IBISWorld Industry Reports This link opens in a new window Industry market research information, company reports and economic reports.
- This link opens in a new window
Scope: International
Industry market research reports covering over 700 industries written at the 5-digit NAICS level which provide key statistics, market characteristics, segmentation, industry conditions, industry performance, key competitors and industry outlook. Now available, over 100 China industry reports (manufacturing, accommodation and food service, education, conventions, real estate, transportation, etc.). Please click on the "China Site" link above the list of U.S. Industry reports to access the site.
Mintel Market Research Database This link opens in a new window International reports on consumer products and industries. All users who register and create a profile must use their university email address.
- This link opens in a new window
Mintel offers hundreds of market research reports covering the U.S. and International consumer marketplaces. Each market research report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape, market-share analysis and consumer profiles. Complex demographic issues are broken into easy-to-understand sections, explaining consumer behavior and demonstrating the structure of the market. The database covers cover a variety of sectors including consumer goods, travel and tourism, financial industry, internet industry, retail, and food & drink.
Simmons Insights This database name has changed. Please see MRI | Simmons Insights
- This link opens in a new window
Passport Database Cancelled See Mintel Market Research Database for similar content.
- This link opens in a new window
Richard K. Miller & Associates Reports This link opens in a new window Market research handbooks
- This link opens in a new window
A wide range of market research handbooks that focus on various consumer-related markets (casinos, travel, entertainment, sports, etc.). Each report includes market forecasts, sector trends, and statistics. In addition to the in-depth analyses the handbooks include links to hundreds of websites for additional information.
SAGE Business Stats SAGE Business Stats has been retired. Content has been migrated to DataPlanet
- This link opens in a new window
MRI|Simmons Insights This link opens in a new window MRI|Simmons Insights provides access to marketing data and tools that allow users the ability to create profile reports with consumer target information, plan cross-media and messaging strategies with built-in analytic tools, including reach and frequency reports, correspondence mapping and geographic analysis. For additional information on how to use the database click on the "Resources" tab at the top of the page. To locate the data that used to be called MRI University, please go to the Catalyst menu at the top and select Brand Catalyst. The Reporter icon will be in the left column.
- This link opens in a new window
Sports Market Analytics (SMA) This link opens in a new window Market research and industry news covering all facets of the sports industry.
SBRNet is a service focusing on the sporting goods and sports marketing industry. The site features market research and industry news covering all facets of the industry: sports equipment sales, sports participation, sports broadcasting, sports sponsorship and sports marketing.
Statista This link opens in a new window Statista provides statistical data from thousands of institutions and sources. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government agencies.
- This link opens in a new window
Statista includes data on more than 85,000 topics from 18,000 sources. About 20 percent of the total data in Statista comes from sources available free online, such as the World Bank and the U.S. Census, but the data also includes numerous exclusive sources which include industry, marketing, and trade groups. Much of the data is related to marketing, demographic, government and industry information, and is international in scope. Data can be downloaded in JPG, PowerPoint and Excel.

Current Newspapers: Local and national subscriptions

Digital Scholarship @ UNLV: College of Hospitality This link opens in a new window Research from the William F. Harrah College of Hotel Administration.
- This link opens in a new window
Areas of research include: food service & hotel management, casino operations, convention and event management, golf and recreation management.
Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window citations 1861-; abstracts 1980-; full text 1997- Full text of most dissertations produced after 1997; citations and abstracts for others.
- This link opens in a new window
Update frequency: Updated quarterly
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses contains over 1.5 million entries, providing citations to North American and European dissertations from 1861 forward, with abstracts from 1980 forward. It also provides citations and abstracts for theses from 1988 forward. Full text of UNLV theses and dissertations available from 1996 to the present. Full text from all other institutions available from 1997 to the present.
Dissertations and Theses: UNLV This link opens in a new window Full text of most UNLV dissertations produced after 1997; citations and abstracts for others.
- This link opens in a new window
Papers First This link opens in a new window 1933- Citations to papers from congresses, symposiums, conferences, expositions, workshops and meetings.
- This link opens in a new window
Update frequency: Updated biweekly
Proceedings First This link opens in a new window 1993- Citations to published proceedings of congresses, symposiums, conferences, expositions, workshops and meetings.
- This link opens in a new window
Update frequency: Updated biweekly

Google Scholar Search

A note about Google Scholar . . .

Although Google Scholar contains many resources, it does not contain access to all relevant resources for hospitality research. Researchers are strongly encouraged to look at the additional resources mentioned above to conduct a thorough literature review. You do not need to purchase articles via Google Scholar many are available for through the UNLV Libraries or via Interlibrary Loan.

For help connecting to UNLV Libraries' resources through Google Scholar see the following.

Hospitality Graduate Student Resources

Literature Review Resources

Google Scholar Search

Locations

Contact