It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
FAB 468 - Food and Beverage Culminating Seminar: Food Culture
Resources for course assignments. Culminating experience linking theory and practice mastered in core hospitality courses. Assess organizational challenges and evaluate solutions through the integration of research and theory.
AtoZ World FoodThis link opens in a new windowThe AtoZ World Food database contains over 6,500 recipes from 174 countries, 884 articles on food cuisine, 545 articles about culture and special occasion foods, and a reference section for ingredients and recipe conversion.
Bloomsbury Food LibraryThis link opens in a new windowAn extensive collection of food content that combines comprehensive reference works with cutting-edge academic research, a wealth of educational resources, and primary resources.
Food and Drink in HistoryThis link opens in a new window9th century-2015
Cookbooks, advertising ephemera, government reports, films, and other primary sources revealing the evolution of food and drink within everyday life and the public sphere.
Search the full text of Benders' Dictionary of Nutrition and Food Technology, International Dictionary of Food and Cooking, Oddbins Dictionary of Wine, The New Food Lover's Companion, and The New Wine Lover's Companion.
Food Studies OnlineThis link opens in a new window 1900-
Food Studies Online contains 80,000 pages of primary archival materials, images, and secondary works, plus 200 hours of documentaries and series, and visual ephemera.
Key themes and disciplines with extensive coverage represented include marketing and consumerism, production and technology, food history, food movements, culinary and food design, food and identity, health, policy, religion, sociology, anthropology, and history. Coverage from the 1940s.
Cuisine and Culture by Linda CivitelloAn illuminating account of how history shapes our diets-now revised and updated Why did the ancient Romans believe cinnamon grew in swamps guarded by giant killer bats? How did the African cultures imported by slavery influence cooking in the American South? What does the 700-seat McDonald's in Beijing serve in the age of globalization? With the answers to these and many more such questions, Cuisine and Culture, Second Edition presents an engaging, informative, and witty narrative of the interactions among history, culture, and food. From prehistory and the earliest societies around the Tigris and Euphrates Rivers to today's celebrity chefs, Cuisine and Culture, Second Edition presents a multicultural and multiethnic approach that draws connections between major historical events and how and why these events affected and defined the culinary traditions of different societies. Fully revised and updated, this Second Edition offers new and expanded features and coverage, including: New Crossing Cultures sections providing brief sketches of foods and food customs moving between cultures More holiday histories, food fables, and food chronologies Discussions of food in the Byzantine, Portuguese, Turkish/Ottoman, and Austro-Hungarian empires Greater coverage of the scientific genetic modification of food, from Mendel in the 19th century to the contemporary GM vs. organic food debate Speculation on the future of food And much more! Complete with sample recipes and menus, as well as revealing photographs and illustrations, Cuisine and Culture, Second Edition is the essential survey history for students of food history.