LibGuides: CSIEME Program: Data Collection and Dissertation

Equipment Lending at Lied Library

Video cameras, GoPros, tripods, microphones, digital audio recorders, VR headsets, and more! For more details, visit our Technology Lending page.

UNLV Libraries Data Research Guides

These guides are maintained primarily by folks in the Research, Innovation, and Creation department in Lied Library which includes the Makerspac Lab and Multimedia Production Studios. They have people who can provide consultations re: these software.

General

Data Visualization

Data Analysis Software

Explore available software here: https://www.it.unlv.edu/software

Qualitative

Atlas.ti

Quantitative

SPSS

Stata

SAS

Tutorials and Workshops

SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods has tools and content to help design research projects, plan a study, learn methodological approaches, gather data, and understand findings.
A full-text collection of real social research case studies is incorporated to help understand abstract methodological concepts in practice. Datasets from both international and national sources accompanied by how-to guides covering numerous quantitative and qualitative research methods are included. SRM contains more than 600 books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, journal articles, videos, and handbooks as well as the entire Little Green Book (quantitative) and Little Blue Book (qualitative) series. A taxonomy of over 1400 methods terms is featured along with a Methods Map which visualizes relationships among methods terms, concepts, people, and literature. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.

Lynda.com
UNLV students, faculty, and staff have access to the full suite of Lynda.com training videos and tutorials. Use your ACE account to login and learn R (for data cleaning), NVivo (for qualitative analysis), SPSS (for quantitative), and more.
UNLV Libraries Workshops
Each semester, we offer a series of workshops designed with graduate students and faculty in mind.
UNLV Writing Center Workshops
Includes workshops on topics like paraphrasing.

Potential Sources of Qualitative Data

UNLV Libraries Special Collections and Archives Portal

Explore the website or contact Special Collections for more information.

Try also the Digital Public Library of America for collections across the United States.

Education-Specific Quantitative Data and Statistics

Visit the Data and Statistics tab of the Education Library Guide for information on

- demographic resources

- U.S. Education statistics

- international statistics

- statistics on children and families

CSIEME Program: Data Collection and Dissertation