LibGuides: CSIEME Program: Coursework and Comprehensive/Qualifying Exams

Session Outline

Getting Organized/Documenting Your Work
- Search Logs, Search History, RefWorks
Type of Sources and Where to Find Them
- Quick Search, Google, and Google Scholar
- Article and Dissertation Databases
- Citation Indexes (e.g., Web of Science)
Search Strategies
- Developing Keywords
- Moving from one source to another

Find Articles Using Quick Search

This is the search box on the UNLV Libraries home page. Click the image to go there.

Find Articles by Searching Databases

A database is an organized collection of information, data, or citations stored in electronic format. Since each database includes a different set of journals, magazines, newspapers, and other resources, searching more than one database can help you to find additional information.

Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1996-
Full text journal articles in education published after 1996. Limited to 20 simultaneous users.
Education Full Text indexes, abstracts and supplies the full text of articles from education-related English-language periodicals and yearbooks published in the United States and elsewhere. English-language books relating to education published in 1996 or later are also indexed. Abstracts are available for items published 1994-1996. Subjects include: Adult Education, Arts, Athletics, Comparative Education, Competency-based Education, Computers in Education, Continuing Education, Educational Technology, Elementary Education, Government Funding, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Library Science, Literacy Standards, Multicultural/Ethnic Education, Parent-Teacher Relations, Prayer in Public Schools, Preschool Education, Religious Education, School Administration, Science and Mathematics, Secondary Education, Special Education, Student Counseling, Teacher Education, Teacher Evaluation, Teaching Methods, Vocational Education
ERIC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1966-
Scholarly and popular journal articles, book chapters, and reports from the field of education.
Update frequency: monthly
Use ERIC to search abstracts of journal articles, book chapters, and reports from the field of education. Subject indexing allows you to zero in on all the articles relevant to your topic. ERIC digests offer overviews of significant scholarship on a topic.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Specialized collection of high-quality, full-text education journals.
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of high-quality, full-text education journals and educational reports.

List of All UNLV Databases

Related Databases

Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
citations 1861-; abstracts 1980-; full text 1997-
Full text of most dissertations produced after 1997; citations and abstracts for others.
Update frequency: Updated quarterly
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses contains over 1.5 million entries, providing citations to North American and European dissertations from 1861 forward, with abstracts from 1980 forward. It also provides citations and abstracts for theses from 1988 forward. Full text of UNLV theses and dissertations available from 1996 to the present. Full text from all other institutions available from 1997 to the present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An archive of more than 700 important scholarly journals covering business, ecology, education, ethnic studies, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and sociology with content ending 3-5 years ago
JSTOR digitally archives more than 700 scholarly journals. Subjects include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and more.
APA PsycINFO 1887-Current This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1800-
The American Psychological Association's international psychology database indexes journal articles, books and dissertations.
Update frequency: Updated monthly
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others.
APA PsycTESTs This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PsycTESTs is a research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration.

Use the following Citation Indexes to see which articles have cited one another.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1960-
Scopus is an index to peer-reviewed scientific, medical, technical, and social science literature.
Scopus also features a citation index, allowing you to find the papers that cite a specific piece of research.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1990-
Web of Science is a platform for Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts and Humanities Index, Journal Citation Reports, Biological Abstracts, MEDLINE, and Inspec.
Help?

Borrowing Things from Other Libraries

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) allows UNLV students, staff, and faculty to borrow from other libraries if items are not available at UNLV Libraries.

Log into My ILL Account

Create a New ILL Account (Click "First Time Users Click Here")

You can also request a scanned copy of any article or chapter we have in print through your ILLiad account.

Managing Citations

RefWorks offers a way to collect, manage and organize research papers and documents. I highly recommend that you set up an account to help with organizing sources and creating bibliographies. You can read annotate, organize, and cite your research as well as collaborate with friends and colleagues by sharing collections.

The UNLV Libraries has an extensive library guide about RefWorks: Learn more here

Search Tips

Narrow/ Focus Your Search	Broaden/ Expand Your Search
Place quotation marks around words to search for an exact phrase, e.g., "high school" (works in many databases and Google)
And or Not connector between concepts	“Or” connector between synonyms
Field Limiters, e.g., dates, type of document	Truncation or Wildcard (e.g., child* to search for all terms beginning with child, e.g. child, children, childcare)
Use the controlled vocabulary (human assigned main topics --Thesaurus)	Free-text or keyword searching (computer mediated, no human intervention)
Proximity searching, e.g., first year n3 retention (finds results in which first year is found within 3 words of retention)

Using Google Scholar

A note about Google Scholar . . . Although Google Scholar contains many resources, it does not have many options to narrow down your results. Also, never purchase articles via Google Scholar. Many are available for free through the UNLV Libraries or via Interlibrary Loan.

For help connecting to UNLV Libraries' resources through Google Scholar see the following.

Using Google Scholar Handout (from Samantha)

Scholar Tips from Google

CSIEME Program: Coursework and Comprehensive/Qualifying Exams

Session Outline

Find Articles Using Quick Search

Find Articles by Searching Databases

Related Databases

Borrowing Things from Other Libraries

Managing Citations

Search Tips

Narrow/ Focus Your Search

Broaden/ Expand Your Search

Using Google Scholar

Locations

Contact