LibGuides: Asian, Pacific Islander, & Middle Eastern (APIME) Heritage Month Resources: UNLV Library Databases Focusing on APIME

APIME-Related Databases

Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International index of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works and obituaries.
Update frequency: Updated monthly
Scope: International
More info: This database combines the Anthropological Literature index from the Tozzer Library, Harvard University and the Anthropological Index from the Royal Anthropological Institute in the UK.
Covers fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable archives of all American Anthropological Association (AAA) journals.
Provides access to complete electronic archives of all American Anthropological Association (AAA) journals, including content housed at JSTOR. List of journals
Asian American Drama This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Plays by Asian-American playwrights along with biographical, production and theatrical information.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Anthropological studies of cultures and ethnic groups.
For each culture, all aspects of cultural and social life are covered, with topics ranging from religious beliefs, bringing up children, causes and cures of diseases, to economic and political behavior. Subject indexing at the paragraph level, as well as keyword searching, enables precise retrieval of information from the text of books, articles, and dissertations included in the collection. Cultures range from ethnic groups in Africa, Asia, Europe and Oceania, to indigenous and immigrant groups in North and South America.
Encyclopaedia of Islam This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
2nd, and 3rd ed.
Descriptive articles offer an overview of Western perspectives on the Islamic world.
The Encyclopaedia of Islam (New Edition) offers an overview of Western perspectives on the Islamic world. Descriptive articles cover Muslims of many origins, tribes and dynasties, crafts and sciences, political and religious institutions, the geography, ethnography, flora and fauna of the various countries, and the history, topography and monuments of the major towns and cities. In its geographical and historical scope it encompasses the old Arabo-Islamic empire, the Islamic countries of Iran, Central Asia, the Indian sub-continent and Indonesia, the Ottoman Empire and all other Islamic countries.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1959-
Articles, editorials, and reviews from the ethnic, minority, and native press.
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press.
Passport
- This link opens in a new window
Database Cancelled
See Mintel Market Research Database for similar content.
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1906-
Indexes work written about the Middle East and other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere.
Update frequency: annual
Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.

Asian, Pacific Islander, & Middle Eastern (APIME) Heritage Month Resources: UNLV Library Databases Focusing on APIME

APIME-Related Databases

Locations

Contact