Computer Science

After nearly two decades, the Vehicle Inventory and Use Survey has returned. The 2021 survey data were posted in September 2023. Compiled by the USDOT's Bureau of Transportation Statistics, these data describe the physical and operational characteristics of the trucks on US roadways.

If you find a dataset for your research is no longer available at a U.S. federal government website, you might be able to locate a copy within the Harvard Law School's Library Innovation Lab archive. "In recent months the Harvard Law School Library Innovation Lab has created a data vault to download, sign as authentic, and make available copies of public government data that is most valuable to researchers, scholars, civil society and the public at large across every field. To begin, we have collected major portions of the datasets tracked by data.gov, federal Github repositories, and PubMed. The Harvard Law School Library has collected government records and made them available to patrons for centuries, and this continues that work."

Reference books about metals and other engineering materials, with information about properties, structure, and how the materials are made. Includes additive manufacturing techniques, including 3-D printing.

A public database of materials data sheets contributed by material supplier companies.

The AccessEngineering database includes searchable full text of many handbooks and manuals that include materials property data. Use the Subject button to browse items in the subject Materials Engineering.

Search public or published datasets related to natural hazards. Register with a user account to use simulation tools and upload your own datasets.

This library guide provides links to DOD information resources and unclassified government report repositories that are open to the public.