Skip to main content
questions, ask us

Nutrition Sciences

This guide is intended to support nutrition sciences students with their assignments and research efforts.

Nutrition Sciences & Related Databases

This list of resources contains journal articles and other research materials about nutrition sciences topics. For more Nutrition Sciences & related databases, see Recommended Resources. If you need dietary supplement resources a list is available on this page. A few evidence-based resources can also be found here.

Nutrition Sciences Journals

The following is a list journals related to nutrition sciences. 

  • Advances in Nutrition
  • American Journal of Clinical Nutrition Journal of parenteral and enteral nutrition (JPEN)
  • Chest
  • Current Opinion in Clinical Nutrition and Metabolic Care
  • New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM)
  • Journal of the American Dietetic Association
  • Journal of Nutrition
  • Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA)

Other Nutrition Sciences Resources

Dietary Supplement Resources

These resources are searchable databases freely available on the internet. You can use these databases to find credible label information for supplements as well as details about the active ingredients in supplements.

1) Dietary supplement label database

The Dietary supplement label database is a joint project of three federal agencies. The labels database includes a quick search option to allow search of supplement ingredients. You can search this database using the the Quick Search box or select one of the tabs to search by: Dietary Ingredients, or by Product name. 

2) PubMed subset for dietary supplements

PubMed has developed a dietary supplement subset to search dietary supplement topics in PubMed. Search results are automatically filtered to retrieve results from the PubMed subset for dietary supplements.

3) National Institutes of Health Office of Dietary Supplements

The NIH Office of Dietary Supplements provides consumer health based information about dietary supplements. The site is has a dictionary of dietary supplement terms. As well as fact sheets about botanicals, frequently asked questions about supplements and links to current topics related to dietary supplements.

 

Clinical Resources

Here are some recommended resources for use in clinical settings:

MeSH for nutrition terms + definitions

Nutritional Sciences [mh]
The study of NUTRITION PROCESSES as well as the components of food, their actions, interaction, and balance in relation to health and disease.
Year introduced: 2007
Child Nutrition Sciences [mh]
The study of NUTRITION PROCESSES as well as the components of food, their actions, interaction, and balance in relation to health and disease of children, infants or adolescents.
Year introduced: 2007
  Animal Nutrition Sciences [mh]
The study of NUTRITION PROCESSES, as well as the components of food, their actions, interaction, and balance in relation to health and disease in animals.
Year introduced: 2007
Nutrition Assessment  [mh]
Evaluation and measurement of nutritional variables in order to assess the level of nutrition or the NUTRITIONAL STATUS of the individual. NUTRITION SURVEYS may be used in making the assessment.
Year introduced: 1990
Nutrition Therapy [mh]
Improving health status of an individual by adjusting the quantities, qualities, and methods of nutrient intake.
Year introduced: 2004
Parenteral Nutrition, Home Total [mh]
The at-home administering of nutrients for assimilation and utilization by a patient whose sole source of nutrients is via solutions administered intravenously, subcutaneously or by some other non-alimentary route.
Year introduced: 1992
Nutrition Surveys [mh]
A systematic collection of factual data pertaining to the nutritional status of a human population within a given geographic area. Data from these surveys are used in preparing NUTRITION ASSESSMENTS.
Nutrition Processes [mh]
Biological actions and events that constitute the steps by which living organisms take in and assimilate NUTRIENTS.
Year introduced: 2007
  Fetal Nutrition Disorders [mh]
Disorders caused by nutritional imbalance, either overnutrition or undernutrition, in the FETUS in utero.
Year introduced: 2005
Nutrition Policy [mh]
Governmental guidelines and objectives pertaining to public food supply and nutrition including recommendations for healthy diet and changes in food habits to ensure healthy diet.
Year introduced: 1995
Child Nutrition Disorders [mh]
Disorders caused by nutritional imbalance, either overnutrition or undernutrition, occurring in children ages 2 to 12 years.
Year introduced: 1989
  Infant Nutrition Disorders [mh]
Disorders caused by nutritional imbalance, either overnutrition or undernutrition, occurring in infants ages 1 month to 24 months.
  Parenteral Nutrition, Home
The at-home administering of nutrients for assimilation and utilization by a patient who cannot maintain adequate nutrition by enteral feeding alone. Nutrients are administered via a route other than the alimentary canal (e.g., intravenously, subcutaneously).
Year introduced: 1992
  Parenteral Nutrition, Total [mh]
The delivery of nutrients for assimilation and utilization by a patient whose sole source of nutrients is via solutions administered intravenously, subcutaneously, or by some other non-alimentary route. The basic components of TPN solutions are protein hydrolysates or free amino acid mixtures, monosaccharides, and electrolytes. Components are selected for their ability to reverse catabolism, promote anabolism, and build structural proteins.
Year introduced: 1992
Parenteral Nutrition [mh]
The administering of nutrients for assimilation and utilization by a patient who cannot maintain adequate nutrition by enteral feeding alone. Nutrients are administered by a route other than the alimentary canal (e.g., intravenously, subcutaneously).
Year introduced: 1992
Nutrition Disorders [mh]
Disorders caused by nutritional imbalance, either overnutrition or undernutrition.
Year introduced: MALNUTRITION was see under DEFICIENCY DISEASES 1963-1966
Enteral Nutrition [mh]
Nutritional support given via the alimentary canal or any route connected to the gastrointestinal system (i.e., the enteral route). This includes oral feeding, sip feeding, and tube feeding using nasogastric, gastrostomy, and jejunostomy tubes.
Year introduced: 1992
  Nutritional Physiological Phenomena [mh]
The processes and properties of living organisms by which they take in and balance the use of nutritive materials for energy, heat production, or building material for the growth, maintenance, or repair of tissues and the nutritive properties of FOOD.
Year introduced: 2009 (1963)
  Prenatal Nutritional Physiological Phenomena [mh]
Nutrition of FEMALE during PREGNANCY.
Year introduced: 2009 (2003)
Nutritive Value [mh]
An indication of the contribution of a food to the nutrient content of the diet. This value depends on the quantity of a food which is digested and absorbed and the amounts of the essential nutrients (protein, fat, carbohydrate, minerals, vitamins) which it contains. This value can be affected by soil and growing conditions, handling and storage, and processing.
Year introduced: 1979
  Nutritional Requirements [mh]
The amounts of various substances in food needed by an organism to sustain healthy life.
Year introduced: 1984(1968)
  Animal Nutritional Physiological Phenomena [mh]
Nutritional physiology of animals.
Year introduced: 2009(1968)
Maternal Nutritional Physiological Phenomena [mh]
Nutrition of a mother which affects the health of the FETUS and INFANT as well as herself.
Year introduced: 2009 (2003)
Adolescent Nutritional Physiological Phenomena [mh]
Nutritional physiology of children aged 13-18 years.
Year introduced: 2009 (1993)
  Infant Nutritional Physiological Phenomena [mh]
Nutritional physiology of children from birth to 2 years of age.
Year introduced: 2009 (1963)
  Child Nutritional Physiology Phenomena [mh]
Nutritional physiology of children aged 2-12 years.
Year introduced: 2009 (1967)
  Nutritional Status
State of the body in relation to the consumption and utilization of nutrients. [mh]
Year introduced: 1987
Food Labeling [mh]
Use of written, printed, or graphic materials upon or accompanying a food or its container or wrapper. The concept includes ingredients, nutritional value, directions, warnings, and other relevant information.
Year introduced: 1974
© University of Nevada Las Vegas