LibGuides: Dance: Articles & Databases

Other Databases

Off-campus access to these resources requires UNLV students, faculty and staff to enter a valid library barcode number (located on the back of your RebelCard) or use their ACE account login.

All Indexes and Databases
This link takes you to a comprehensive list of all databases available through the UNLV Libraries. Use the drop-down menu above to narrow by subject.

Articles
Newspaper Reviews

ProQuest One Academic
Good for: Conducting academic research on all subjects.
Contains: Journal articles, streaming media, e-books and dissertations and theses.
Academic Search Premier
Good for: Conducting academic research on all subjects.
Contains: Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.
JSTOR
Good for: Exploring a wide range of scholarly topics.
Contains: Scholarly journals, ebooks, art images and primary source collections

JSTOR digitally archives more than 700 scholarly journals. Subjects include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and more. Also includes ARTSTOR collections from museums and collections of historical primary sources from libraries and cultural heritage organizations.
Music Index
Index to music journals. Also includes dance periodicals.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Good for: Identifying how often a particular author has been cited in the work of peers or to discover the most influential scholarship on a topic.
Contains: Bibliographic information and cited references.
Dates covered: 1975-one week ago.
Google Scholar
Good for: Conducting academic research on all subjects.
Contains: Articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents, and court opinions

Google Scholar searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and reports from many academic and technical fields. It is freely available to anyone searching the Internet; however, many of the links that lead to full text resources are not. On your first visit, go to Google Scholar Preferences and use the Library Links box to set UNLV as your source for no-fee access to many full text articles.

Newspaper databases are a great resource for finding reviews.

Nexis Uni
Good for: Researching published news, legal, medical, patents, and business information.
Contains: News, legal, medical, and business information.

The news section delivers the full text of international, national and regional newspapers along with wire services, broadcast transcripts, magazines, and non-English language sources. The legal section contains U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews and international legal information. This includes Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789. The medical section supplies information from news and medical journals, and provides abstracts to medical news from Medline. The business section includes business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.
U.S. Newsstream Collection
Good for: Finding current and recent news articles from major U.S. newspapers.
Contains: Articles from newspapers like the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, New York Times, and the Wall Street Journal.
Dates covered: 1980s-present.

All newspaper collections

In order to find interviews and/or reviews using the UNLV Libraries' Quick Search...

Go to the Libraries' homepage at http://www.library.unlv.edu/
In Quick Search, type in either dance interview or dance review
Limit the number of results by scrolling down the left hand column to "Subject Terms" and selecting "dance"
You can further limit it to "dancers and choreographers"
When you find a review or interview, click on Full Text Online to view the item

Dance

Other Databases

Locations

Contact