Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries provides a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions.
Includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of the Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. Also includes music recorded around the African continent by Dr. Hugh Tracey for the International Library of African Music (ILAM) at Rhodes University as well as material collected by recordists on the South Asian subcontinent from the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE), sponsored by the American Institute for Indian Studies. Produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings. Users may also create, view, and share your own custom playlists in a free account available for registration set up within the database.
Offers streaming classical music videos that include over 1,600 films as well as many events broadcast live, with replays available for several weeks after the live events.
Content includes music festivals (such as the Verbier, Salzburg, and Lucerne), concerts from baroque through contemporary music (Berlin, New York Philharmonic orchestras, the Concertgebouw, Carnegie Hall recitals, etc.), operas (including Paris and La Scala), ballets, workshops and master classes with renowned artists (from Juilliard, Heidelberg and elsewhere), competitions (the Tchaikovsky from Moscow), documentaries, artist portraits, and archived performances.
Finding Recordings in the Library Catalog
The Music Library has many CDs available. Once you find the CD you are looking for, write down the call number and ask for it at the Music Library service desk.
Try a keyword search for the composer's last name and type of composition (example: enter "Bach" and "Suites")
Use the limiters to the left to narrow the format to "Audio Recording"
Note the call number and location
The UNLV Libraries also carry dance related DVDs that can be found by searching the catalog. They range from videos of performances to documentaries, interviews to pedagogical videos. These videos can also be viewed online through our many streaming resources. For more information on our streaming databases, please visit our Online Movies & Streaming Video Guide.
This is a database containing streaming video of dozens of documentaries, interviews, dance instruction, and performances in the world of dance. Includes ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance.
Produced in collaboration with the UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive, the material in this collection includes thousands of audio field recordings and interviews, educational recordings, film footage, field notebooks, slides, correspondence and ephemera from over 60 fields of study.
Music Online: Classical Performance in Video is a comprehensive video resource for the study of classical music. The database includes 1,600 performances, including 200 full operas and 75 dance titles, as well as masterclasses, documentaries, scores, and interviews.