LibGuides: Film Studies: Archives, images and press kits

Film history

Movie History: A Survey by Douglas Gomery; Clara Pafort-Overduin
ISBN: 9780203832288
Publication Date: 2011

Stills and press kits online

CineFiles
Scanned images of reviews, press kits, festival and showcase program notes, newspaper articles, and other documents covering world cinema, past and present.
Margaret Herrick Library Digital Collections
Primary sources from the Academy like correspondence, photographs, early release fliers, full issues of rare periodicals, sheet music, lobby cards and movie star ephemera. The database also includes complete copies of more than 450 Academy publications, dating back to the founding of the organization in 1927.
Motion Picture Stills, 1903-
UCLA Libraries digital collection of film stills from their archives
Pressbooks at Media History Digital Library
Pressbooks provided promotional materials and suggested strategies for local theater owners to bring people in and maximize profits.
Through the Camera Lens: The Moving Picture World and the Silent Cinema Era, 1907-1927
- This link opens in a new window
Women Film Pioneers project
Women Film Pioneers Project features silent-era producers, directors, co-directors, scenario writers, scenario editors, camera operators, title writers, editors, costume designers, exhibitors, and more to make the point that they were not just actresses.

Special Collections and Archives at UNLV

Robin Holabird Film Press Kit Collection
This collection is comprised of press kits for commercial Hollywood films dating from the 1980s through the first decade of the 2000s that were compiled by Robin Holabird in her capacity as Deputy Director of the Nevada Film Commission. The kits contain press releases, photograph stills and other filming information
more...less...
Link goes to finding aid; original materials in Special Collections and Archives.
Howard Hughes public relations reference files
Primarily composed of newspaper clippings organized into reference files documentingHoward Hughes' achievements as an aviation pioneer, studio head, director and producer, and developer of Las Vegas. Aviation, aerospace, defense industries, motion picture studios, film stars, communism in Hollywood, HUAC, employees, business competitors, Watergate, organized crime and gambling, Las Vegas motels and hotels, and the Atomic Energy Commission are all well represented in the files.
Maggie Mancuso Collection of Film Locations
The Maggie Mancuso Collection of Film Locations dates from 1994 to 2001 and consists primarily of color photographs of locations throughout Las Vegas, Nevada for the film Casino (1995) as well as other productions. Several photographs were taped together to create a panoramic image. The collection also contains production materials from Casino, including a list of locations used and a script. It also includes production materials from the movie Mars Attacks! (1996) as well as other films and projects.
more...less...
Link goes to finding aid; original materials housed in UNLV Libraries Special Collections and Archives
Nevada Motion Picture Division Collection of Scripts.
The Nevada Motion Picture Division Collection of Scripts dates from 1981 to 2005 with the bulk of the collection dating from 1984 to 1996 and consists primarily of scripts for feature films, television movies and shows, and commercials filmed in the state of Nevada. The collection includes location reports and shooting schedules for some of the productions. The collection also contains press materials received by the Motion Picture Division.
more...less...
Link goes to finding aid; collection housed in UNLV Libraries Special Collections and Archives.

Microfilmed collections at Lied Library

Research Collections on Microform in Lied Library

History of the cinema 1895-1940 MICROFICHE PN1993.5.A1 H57 1987
Collection Dates: 01/01/1895 - 12/31/1940. This 3900 piece collection contains a variety of articles, guides, and pamphlets written in several languages, published between 1895-1940. Books and pamphlets range in subject from contemporary studies in the sociology of the cinema to Hollywood novels, biographies of stars and how-to books on screenwriting.

Finding Aids: Accompanied by Guide [Micro PN1993.5.A1 H57 1987 Guide]. An alphabetical listing by author and the title of the piece(s).

Cinema pressbooks from the original studio collections MICROFILM PN1995.9.P79 C55 1989
Collection Dates: 01/01/1919 - 12/31/1949. This 37 reel collection is a rich source for basic background movie information, including promotional campaigns, publicity blurbs, posters, still reproductions, actor bibliographies, and full technical and promotional details. A total of 1700 pressbooks are reproduced covering the following studios for the following respective years: United Artists, 1919 - 1949; Warner Brothers, 1922 - 1949; and Monogram Pictures, 1937 - 1947. These pressbooks are a unique and detailed record transition from silent movies to "talkies"; and the Golden Years of Hollywood in the 1930's and 1940's.

Finding Aids: Cinema Pressbooks from the original studio collections, Reading, Eng ; Woodbridge, Conn.: Research Publications 1988 (MICRO PN1995.9.P79 C55 1989 v.1 and v.2).

Film Studies

Film history

Stills and press kits online

Special Collections and Archives at UNLV

Microfilmed collections at Lied Library

Locations

Contact