An interdisciplinary journal of research, scholarly articles, book reviews and archival reports concerned with the evidence produced by the mass media for historians and social scientists, and with the impact of mass communications on history.
Articles dedicated to popular film and television in the broadest sense. Concentration on commercial cinema and television, theory/criticism, interviews, filmographies, bibliographies, stars, directors, producers, studios and networks.
Cinema Journal, the official publication of the Society for Cinema and Media Studies, publishes outstanding scholarship in all areas of media studies including film, television, radio, comics, videogames, and digital media.
Film Quarterly, published since 1958, provides readers with insightful analyses of film, the film industry, and international cinemas. More than a glimpse behind the scenes, Film Quarterly offers serious film lovers in-depth articles, reviews, and interviews that examine all aspects of film history, film theory, and the impact of film, video, and television on culture and society.
The Journal of Film and Video, the official publication of the University Film & Video Association, is an internationally respected forum that focuses on scholarship in the fields of film and video production, history, theory, criticism, and aesthetics. Article features include film and related media, problems of education in these fields, and the function of film and video in society.
Publishes research on the international history of cinema; includes the production, distribution, exhibition, and reception of films designed for commercial theaters, as well as nontheatrical, noncommercial uses of motion pictures.
Monthly trades magazine publishing reviews of major and independent film release, profiles of filmmakers and industry executives, articles on industry trends and new technologies, construction and design, theatre sound, equipment and concessions.
Index of film and television periodicals from 30 countries.
The Film Literature Index (FLI) indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular.
Art publications index with selected full text from 1997. Limited to 12 simultaneous users.
Art, architecture, photography, graphic design, landscape architecture, interior design, film, museology are all covered. Possible to limit searches to full text items only or peer-reviewed items only. Works of art found reproduced in periodicals are also indexed. Indexing coverage begins 1984; abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. The abstracts range from 50 to 300 words and describe the content and scope of the source articles. Full text coverage of selected articles begins in 1997.
Journal articles in the fields of communication and mass media studies .
Update frequency: weekly
Communication & Mass Media Complete contains journal articles in the fields of communication and mass media studies. It merges CommSearch (formerly produced by the NCA, National Communication Association) and the Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). Communication & Mass Media Complete provides current issues and backfiles of in the fields of communication and mass media.
Searchable articles from academic and professional journals and magazines covering every academic discipline.
Update frequency: Updated daily
This excellent one-stop resource lets you search citations and summaries by keyword and then instantly retrieve the full text of articles from journals online. The Get Text button helps you locate any article without linked full text in alternate online sources or in UNLV's print journal collection.
An archive of more than 700 important scholarly journals covering business, ecology, education, ethnic studies, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and sociology with content ending 3-5 years ago
JSTOR digitally archives more than 700 scholarly journals. Subjects include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and more.
Searches scholarly journal articles. Set preferences to UNLV for full text access!
Google Scholar searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and reports from many academic and technical fields. It is freely available to anyone searching the Internet; however, many of the links that lead to full text resources are not. On your first visit, go to Google Scholar Preferences and use the Library Links box to set UNLV as your source for no-fee access to many full text articles. For answers to questions about Google Scholar, check out the FAQ.
Film Studies: Critical Approaches represents the most up-do-date critical guide to the study of film, covering all the significant theories, debates and approaches to the subject. A team of international experts provides an overview of the main disciplinary approaches to film studies, explaining the main concepts and methods involved in film analysis, and discussing areas in detail, including important new areas such as film audiences and reception, queer theory, film and psychoanalysis, and poststructuralist debates.
A succinct guide to thinking critically and writing precisely about film. Both an introduction to film study and a practical writing guide, this brief text introduces students to film terms and the major film theories, enabling them to write more critically.