LibGuides: Engineering (General): Finding Articles & Databases

Using Google Scholar

If you want to use Google Scholar as one of your search tools, the document below describes how to update the Google Scholar settings to tie it to the subscriptions you have access to through UNLV and other libraries.

Google Scholar Settings

Find Articles by Searching Databases

A database is an organized collection of information, data, or citations stored in electronic format. You can use the databases below to search for engineering and computer science resources (newspaper, journal, or magazine articles; e-books; patents; conference proceedings; datasets; and more). Hover over the database title to see a description of what each database offers. Since each database includes a different set resources, searching more than one database can help you to find additional information. If you need more help, Ask A Librarian.

List of databases

Access Engineering
Access Engineering provides online access to many engineering reference books, handbooks, technical materials, videos, as well as interactive tables and graphs.

more... less...

Instructors can also access Schaum's Outlines and curriculum materials to support course and assignment design.

ACM Digital Library
Use this resource to search citations and full text of ACM journal and conference proceedings. On the search results page, you may choose the option to "Expand your search to The ACM Guide to Computing Literature" to expand your search and use the UNLV Find Text button in the upper right corner to seek or request full text copies.

Expand your search to the larger ACM Guide to Computing Literature and use the UNLV Find Text button to request the full text.
Building Green
Good for: Researching sustainable building practices.
Contains: Articles, reviews, product information, and news.

This resource integrates product listings from the GreenSpec products directory, project case studies from the High-Performance Buildings Database, and the Environmental Building News.
Compendex
UNLV Libraries no longer subscribes. Try these other databases: Web of Science, INSPEC, or Scopus.
Dissertations and Theses
Good for: Dissertations and theses.
Contains: Citations, abstracts, and full text of dissertations and theses.
Dates covered: Citations from 1861, abstracts from 1980 for dissertations and 1988 for theses, full text from 1996 for UNLV items and 1997 for most others.
Faulkner Advisory for IT Studies (FAITS)
Good for: Gaining practical insights into information technology practices and problems.
Contains: Practical overviews.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints
When researching market opportunities or innovation needs, you can use this database to find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.
GeoRef
Good for: Finding scholarly literature in the earth sciences.
Contains: Index to literature.
Dates covered: 1785-present.
IEEE Xplore
Good for: Accessing scholarly and technical materials about electrical engineering and computer science.
Contains: Articles from journals and conferences, magazines, and standards documents.
Dates covered: 1884-present.

Provides access to almost a third of the world's current electrical engineering, telecommunications, power, and computer science literature. Full-text access to all IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, conference proceedings, and all current IEEE standards.
INSPEC
Good for: Accessing academic literature in physics, electrical/electronic technology, computing, information technology, control, production, and manufacturing engineering.
Contains: Journals, conference papers, books, reports, and dissertations.

To search within INSPEC, use the Web of Science's “All Databases” search option.
SAE MOBILUS
Good for: Accessing technical and research engineering information published by SAE International.
Contains: Scholarly journals, technical reports and papers, industry magazines, e-books, and standards documents.
ScienceDirect Journals
Locate articles published in nearly 2,000 science, engineering, technology and other scholarly journals. Many of the full text articles include links to relevant handbooks and encyclopedia entries to help students and interdisciplinary researchers learn new concepts.
Scopus
Good for: Researching peer-reviewed scientific, medical, technical, and social science literature.
Contains: Index to literature.
Dates covered: 1960-present.

Scopus also features a citation index, allowing you to find the papers that cite a specific piece of research.
SPIE Digital Library
Good for: Researching optics and photonics applied research.
Contains: Articles, conference proceeding papers, and ebooks.
Springer Materials
Good for: Researching materials science.
Contains: Information on materials, their properties and uses.
TRID
Good for: Researching transportation technology and engineering topics.
Contains: Scholarly articles, conference papers and abstracts, and research grant reports.

Combining the Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre's International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database, the index covers over one million works of transportation research.
UNLV Libraries - Gateway to Government Information
Good for: Finding government publications.
Contains: Information on how to find government resources.

Government information resources include Congressional laws and hearings, nutrition, crime, diseases, endangered species, immigration, and much more.
Web of Science
Good for: Researching a wide range of topics in science, social science, arts, and humanities.
Contains: Citations to scholarly journal articles and conference papers.
Dates covered: 1900-present.

Web of Science is a platform for Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts and Humanities Index, Journal Citation Reports, Biological Abstracts, MEDLINE, and Inspec.
Help?

Engineering (General)

Using Google Scholar

Find Articles by Searching Databases

List of databases

Locations

Contact