Journalism and Media Studies

Good for: Accounts of life, culture and historical events reported in newspapers from every U.S. state.

Contains: Historical newspapers.

Dates covered: 1690-1923.

Good for: Identifying how often a particular author has been cited in the work of peers or to discover the most influential scholarship on a topic.

Contains: Bibliographic information and cited references.

Dates covered: 1975-one week ago.

Good for: Finding newspaper articles about news and events in Chicago and the world.

Contains: Newspaper articles.

Dates covered: 1849-2015.

Good for: Researching communication studies. 

Contains: Abstracts of articles published in communication studies literature. 

Dates covered: 1915-present.

Good for: Finding scholarship in communication and mass media studies, including journalism and popular culture.

Contains: Journal articles. 

Dates covered: 1900-current date

Good for: Researching communication and media studies. 

Contains: Full text of 16 communication studies journals. 

Dates covered: 1950-current date.

Good for: Researching U.S. legislative information. 

Contains: Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, committee information, and more. 

Dates covered: 1789-present.

Good for: Background information to start your research.

Contains: Dictionaries, encyclopedias, quotations, thesauri, and bilingual dictionaries.

Good for: Academic books in all subject areas. 

Contains: eBooks, reports, and other resources

Good for: Researching education. 

Contains: Journal articles, book chapters, and educational reports. 

Dates covered: 1966-present.

Good for: Searching articles that analyze film, television and aspects of popular culture.

Contains: Articles published in scholarly journals and popular magazines.

Good for: Studying changes in American fashion, culture, and society. 

Contains: Harper's Bazaar magazine. 

Dates covered: 1867-present.

Good for: Exploring a wide range of scholarly topics. 

Contains: Scholarly journals, ebooks, art images and primary source collections

Good for: Accessing bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references in social sciences journals. 

Contains: Bibliographic information, abstracts, and cited references.

Good for: Finding government publications. 

Contains: Information on how to find government resources.

Good for: Discovering and locating journals at UNLV Libraries.

Contains: Availability of online and print journal holdings.

Good for: Searching North American women's magazines and their historical context. 

Contains: Women's magazines including Better Homes and Gardens, Chatelaine, Good Housekeeping, Ladies' Home Journal, Parents Magazine, Seventeen, Cosmopolitan and Essence. 

Dates covered: 1887-2005.

Good for: Studying fashion industry history and trends.

Contains: Trade publication Women’s Wear Daily.

Dates covered: 1910-present.

Good for: Searching library holdings worldwide.

Contains: Catalog of library holdings.

Dates covered: 11th century-present.