LibGuides: Journalism and Media Studies: Finding Data & Statistics--Data Journalism

Introduction to Journalism Data Sources

Data Journalism & Other Data Resources for Journalists

Data Journalism Tools from Knight Science Journalism Program at MIT
A collection of resources and tools for finding, analyzing, and presenting data — as well as further immersion into the field of data journalism.

Data Journalism Resources from GIJN
Open Data Handbook, Open Knowledge International
Dataset digest: Open data, tools and resources that can help fuel your stories, Journalist's Resources
Resources for learning and doing data journalism, American Press Institute
Data Driven Journalism Resources
Top data journalism resources, ICFJ

Project for Excellence in Journalism: Datasets
Annual datasets from the Pew Center's News Coverage Index.
The Curious Journalist's Guide to Data (2016)

Statistics--Media

These resources provide national-level statistics on IT, internet and communications infrastucture, media access and use for print, TV and radio broadcast as well as cinema.

Points to consider when using these statistics: UNESCO, ITU and other international government organizations rely on individual countries to report statistics to them, so data varies in availability and currency. For a single country, check the national statistical agency, as they may have more current or detailed statistics.

Remember: Media use and availability statistics are difficult to gather and interpret. Use them with caution.

UNESCO Institute for Statistics: Data Centre
Use the "Culture and Communication" section to find statistics on newspapers, TV and radio and cinema.
Note: as UNESCO relies on individual countries to report statistics, data varies in availability and currency.

International Telecommunications Union ITU, Facts & Figures: Various data reports from ITU.
Links to National Statistics Sites: "Links to telecommunication statistics compiled by national telecommunication ministries, regulatory agencies and industry associations as well as international organizations and consultancies." (ITU)

Passport This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Global Market Information Database (GMID) is an integrated on-line information system providing key business intelligence on countries, companies, markets and consumers.
Scope: International
This integrated online information system covers over 350 markets in 207 countries. Information is accessible in four modules: statistics (quantitative data and forecasts on consumer lifestyles, retailing, countries, consumer markets), analysis (in-depth market analysis report format), companies (profiles of leading FMCG companies along with financial data, market share and brand information) and sources (lists data providers by specific subject area.) Statistical data goes back as far as 1977 (but most series start in 1990) and is forecast out to 2015. Reports generally stay in the database for 5 years.

Statistics--Media Circulation

Editor & Publisher Newspaper Data Book
Call Number: PN4700 .E42

How to Find Country Specific Circulation Data

Data & Statistics Resources

UNLV Libraries Data & Statistics Resources
Includes databases, government sources, and subject-specific data resources.

American FactFinder
Create tables or maps and download data from the Census of Population and Housing, Economic Census, or American Community Survey.
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS)
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention public health data tool.
dataZoa
dataZoa allows you to access and monitor over 3 billion dynamic data series from public sites and other dataZoa publishers. You can get data on economics, demographics, energy, finance, health and more from sites such as the U.S. Census, the Bureau of Labor Statistics, Yahoo Finance, the National Center for Education Statistics, and more.

To use dataZoa you must create a personal account from a UNLV e-mail address to begin.
Historical Statistics of the United States
Historical Statistics of the United States is a standard reference resource for data on all aspects of American history. This resources contains five sections: 1)Population 2)Work and Welfare 3)Economic Structure 4)Economic Sectors and 5)Governance and International Relations
ICPSR
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is an organization of member institutions working together to: acquire and preserve social science data; provide open and equitable access to these data; and promote effective data management.
MyResearcher
MyReseacher is an innovative and powerful data-tracking and information reporting web application created by Applied Analysis. MyReseacher allows users to search millions of economic, fiscal, social and environmental metrics, tracking and trending the ones that matter most to them. MyResearcher has Las Vegas and Clark County area statistics as well as detailed gaming statistics from across the United States.

Users will be required to create an account with their UNLV email address.
UNData
This web site pools together over 60 years of data collected by the UN.
UNLV - Office of Decision Support Reports
Provides access to a variety of UNLV statistics, including student profiles, FTE Enrollments, Fiscal resources, Diversity, and more.
Vizala
Vizala is an online database that is completely free and open. It would be the only site on the list that combines economics, market research, demographic, and industry data from many different sources and organizes the data for specific areas of interest. Vizala also provides tools that allow you to customize any view of data with filtering and sorting options. You can then save, share, or export any of those customized views.

Data-Planet
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the extensive Data-Planet repository of standardized and structured statistical data.
Roper Center - iPOLL Databank
- This link opens in a new window
The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research, located at Cornell University, is one of the world’s leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from public opinion surveys.
SAGE Business Stats
- This link opens in a new window
Users can view data needed for starting a business down to the ZIP code level, research age groups, populations by race, household income ranges, employment and employee wages, among many other measures.
SAGE Local & State Stats
- This link opens in a new window
State Stats features data from more than 80 different government and non-government sources and backed by a rich collection of more than 3,000 current and historical data series on popular topics of research interest.
SAGE U.S. Political Stats
- This link opens in a new window
U.S. Political Stats is a powerful data download and visualization tool covering all three branches of the United States government.
Statista
- This link opens in a new window
Statista provides statistical data from thousands of institutions and sources. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government agencies.
Statista includes data on more than 85,000 topics from 18,000 sources. About 20 percent of the total data in Statista comes from sources available free online, such as the World Bank and the U.S. Census, but the data also includes numerous exclusive sources which include industry, marketing, and trade groups. Much of the data is related to marketing, demographic, government and industry information, and is international in scope. Data can be downloaded in JPG, PowerPoint and Excel.
WRDS
- This link opens in a new window
Limited to UNLV affiliated users. Users must request an account.The Wharton Research Data Service provides World Wide Web access to CRSP, ISSM and Global Insight (Basic Economics).

USAFacts.org
USAFacts is a new data-driven portrait of the American population, our government’s finances, and government’s impact on society.

Related Guides

UNLV Data Management
The University of Nevada Las Vegas (UNLV) University Libraries created this website to provide helpful resources for researchers designing or implementing a data management plan.
UNLV Government Information
Information on how to find publications that are produced by government agencies covering a wide variety of topics

Datasets for Journalists

Suggestions for Accessing Healthcare Data from the Association for Healthcare Journalists
Datasets for Data Mining and Data Science
Pew Research Data Sets for Journalism
Global Investigative Journalism Network Data Journalism Resources
Data Driven Journalism Resources from the European Journalism Centre
ProPublica Data Store - Some free and some for a fee.
Data.world.com

Journalism and Media Studies