LibGuides: Journalism and Media Studies: Getting Started

Urban Affairs Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

UNLV Libraries
Lied Library
4505 S. Maryland Parkway
Box 457014
Las Vegas, NV 89154-7014
susie.skarl@unlv.edu

702-895-2141

Subjects: Communication Studies, Couple & Family Therapy, Criminal Justice, Crisis & Emergency Management, Government Information, Journalism & Media Studies, Public Administration, Social Work, Urban Studies

About this Guide

This guided is intended to help you with your library research with databases, journals, ebooks, reference books, and web resources to help with your literature review, or provide background information on journalism and media studies.

Recommended Resources

UNLV Libraries Quick Search
an innovative Google-like research discovery engine that provides instant search access to a high proportion of the University Libraries’ resources, including journal and newspaper articles, dissertations and theses, electronic books, the locations of relevant print books, and much more.
UNLV Libraries Newspaper Databases & Resources
Includes a wide variety of current & historical newspaper databases & resources available through UNLV Libraries.

Communication and Media Studies
Good for: Researching communication and media studies.
Contains: Full text of 16 communication studies journals.
Dates covered: 1950-current date.
This communication collection includes the full text of journals published by Sage and participating societies. It covers such subjects as journalism, public opinion, political communication, mass communication, interpersonal communication, cultural studies, intercultural communication, television & film studies, media studies, business communication, organizational & management communication, written communication, rhetoric, and literacy studies.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Good for: Finding scholarship in communication and mass media studies, including journalism and popular culture.
Contains: Journal articles.
Dates covered: 1900-current date
Update frequency: weekly
Communication & Mass Media Complete contains journal articles in the fields of communication and mass media studies. It merges CommSearch (formerly produced by the NCA, National Communication Association) and the Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). Communication & Mass Media Complete provides current issues and backfiles of in the fields of communication and mass media.
Women's Magazine Archive
1887-2005
North American women's magazines including Better Homes and Gardens, Chatelaine, Good Housekeeping, Ladies' Home Journal, Parents Magazine, Seventeen, Cosmopolitan and Essence.
Popular Culture in Britain and America
1950-1975
Primary sources documenting music and popular culture in the US and Britain, 1950-1975, including manuscripts, video, photos, underground magazines and more.
Part of Americana combined search portal

Media History Digital Library
Film industry and fan publications, 1903-1995 (most pre-1926)
Google Scholar
Searches scholarly journal articles. Set preferences to UNLV for full text access!

Here are some good places to start your journalism & media studies research:

Film & Television Literature Index
Journal and magazine articles about film and television.

Journalism and Media Studies

Urban Affairs Librarian

About this Guide

Recommended Resources

Course Guides

Locations

Contact