EMHA: Executive Master of Health Care Administration: Finding Articles & Databases

Update frequency: Updated weekly
Scope: International
Languages: English
Primarily a database for retrieving journal articles but allows for searching by company in the advanced search section. The ABI/INFORM Complete database offers searchable full text of more than 6,800 of the leading business and management journals in North America and the world. Coverage is international and includes advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Also compiles information on 25 million companies!

The database also includes company profiles of the world’s 10,000 largest companies providing SWOT analysis for many companies.

Update frequency: weekly
The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature is an index to literature in nursing and allied health. This database provides indexing, abstracting, and full text for over 1,600 current nursing and allied health journals and publications dating back to 1982, totaling over 700,000 records.

Update frequency: Updated quarterly
Includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Health Technology Assessment Database, and NHS Economic Evaluation Database.

Update frequency: Updated quarterly
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses contains over 1.5 million entries, providing citations to North American and European dissertations from 1861 forward, with abstracts from 1980 forward. It also provides citations and abstracts for theses from 1988 forward. Full text of UNLV theses and dissertations available from 1996 to the present. Full text from all other institutions available from 1997 to the present.

Embase content is indexed using a specialized thesaurus, Emtree, that includes biomedical, chemical, and drug terms. There is a special focus on drugs and devices.

Includes Collins Dictionary of Medicine, Dictionary of Medical Acronyms & Abbreviations, Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary, Mosby's Dental Dictionary, Mosby's Dictionary of Complementary and Alternative Medicine, Mosby's Medical, Nursing and Allied Health Dictionary, Saunders Comprehensive Veterinary Dictionary, Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary and more.

It also provides information about behavioral measurement instruments, including those from industrial organizational behavior and education. HaPI includes citations to freestanding instruments as well as instruments that have only appeared in journal or technical reports, published and unpublished.

Also includes a number of health-related pamphlets and health reference books.

Nursing and allied health coverage is especially strong. Also includes Lexi-PAL Drug Guide.

JCR gives information year-by-year on the impact factors of journals as well as the half-life (for how many years an article is cited after publication) of journals.

Journals@Ovid consists of two sets of nursing titles. One set has about 40 titles on nursing and health professions with content from 1997 to present. The Lippincott, Williams and Wilkins Legacy Archive Collection has 240 nursing titles with coverage ending after 1999.

Searching Medline on the Web of Knowledge platform allows you to also search several other databases at the same time.

Produced by the Buros Institute, this database contains information from the 9th, 10th, 11th, 12th, 13th, 14th, and 15th Mental Measurements Yearbooks. Records contain descriptive information and critical reviews of over 2,200 standardized English-language personality, aptitude, neuropsychological, educational, achievement, and intelligence tests. Subject coverage includes behavioral science, education, psychiatry, psychology, speech, language, and hearing. Paper copies back to 1938.

Search by keyword, chemical formula, physical property and chemical structure. The Merck Index Online contains information from over 11,500 monographs and reference data.

Formerly known as PILOTS.

A full-text collection of real social research case studies is incorporated to help understand abstract methodological concepts in practice. Datasets from both international and national sources accompanied by how-to guides covering numerous quantitative and qualitative research methods are included. SRM contains more than 600 books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, journal articles, videos, and handbooks as well as the entire Little Green Book (quantitative) and Little Blue Book (qualitative) series. A taxonomy of over 1400 methods terms is featured along with a Methods Map which visualizes relationships among methods terms, concepts, people, and literature. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.

Scopus also features a citation index, allowing you to find the papers that cite a specific piece of research.