EMHA: Executive Master of Health Care Administration: Finding Data & Statistics

The University of Nevada Las Vegas (UNLV) University Libraries created this website to provide helpful resources for researchers designing or implementing a data management plan.

Information on how to find publications that are produced by government agencies covering a wide variety of topics

The CMS data navigator provides a portal to link data seekers to sources of data related to CMS. Data provided is that which is publicly available with non-identifying information.

Includes national health statistics for infants, children, adolescents, adults, and older adults. There are also links to the MMWR morbidity and mortality tables available.

The National Center for Health Statistics site includes explanations about data access and use. Data from CDC Wonder and WISQARS is available. Data about diseases and conditions are available for ten broad topics, including diabetes, cardiovascular, and dementia and mental health.

BRFSS is the Center for Disease Control and Prevention's public health inquiry tool.

"The Health Statistics and Numerical Data subject guide includes some of the major sources of health and general statistics in the United States and a brief list of international resources."

SAMHSA has prioritized data, outcomes and quality - realizing an integrated data strategy and a national framework for quality improvement in behavioral health care will inform policy, measure program impact, and lead to improved quality of services and outcomes of individuals, families, and communities. Data helps SAMHSA and the nation assess the impact of the changes to US health care systems and identify and address behavioral health disparities.

The American Cancer Society provides statistics about cancer rates of death, new cases, and other relevant statistics.

Find national statistics on cancer using the Cancer Statistics Explorer Network and read reports about caner from the National Cancer Institute.

The GHO "By category" view provides data classified according to health related topics. Relevant indicators are grouped together in the various data views in order to provide broader context for the information provided.

The WHO Mortality Database is a compilation of mortality data by age, sex and cause of death, as reported annually by Member States from their civil registration systems.

The WHO Global Health Estimates provide a comprehensive and comparable assessment of mortality and loss of health due to diseases and injuries for all regions of the world.

IHME tracks diseases and measures disease burden for 187 countries, using systematic peer reviewed methodology to gather a comprehensive picture of global disease burden.

Search State Health Facts to compare health data at the state level on a number of health indicators.

A collaborative data site from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and University of Wisconsin, providing county level data on health outcomes and health factors.

Compiled reports of health status using data from a public health perspective.

AHA provides reports and studies about hospital related data.

Healthcare cost and utilization project (HCUPnet) is a freely available statistical information on community hospital information covering: hospital stays, conditions, costs including Medicare, Medicaid, private, and uninsured patients.

The National Hospital Care Survey (NHCS) is designed to provide accurate and reliable health care statistics that answer key questions of interest to health care and public health professionals, researchers and health care policy makers.

There are many freely available datasets related to national health care. To view the list of existing datasets, click the link above and select from the available list of resources.

"The National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES) is a program of studies designed to assess the health and nutritional status of adults and children in the United States. The survey is unique in that it combines interviews and physical examinations."

Compiled reports of health status using data from a public health perspective.

BRFSS is the Center for Disease Control and Prevention's public health inquiry tool.

Clicking on any state in the map takes users to a snapshot of available vital health statistics for that particular state.

A collaborative data site from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and University of Wisconsin, providing county level data on health outcomes and health factors.