In Historical Abstracts or WorldCat, use the UNLV Find Text button to open a new tab that looks up the item you're viewing in UNLV's catalog.
If there's no print or online access, use the Request from Another Library link to generate an interlibrary loan request form!
Chicago style citations have two components: the NOTES part, which appears in your footnotes or endnotes, and a BIBLIOGRAPHY that lists all sources at the end of the paper.
NOTES citations put the author's first name first and refer to the specific page in the book or article being cited that the quotation or paraphrase refers to. It's punctuated like a single sentence with commas separating the elements.
3. Peter LaSalle, “Conundrum: A Story about Reading,” New England Review 38, no. 1 (2017): 95, Project MUSE.
The corresponding entry in the BIBLIOGRAPHY begins with the author's last name and includes all page numbers for a journal article or book chapter. Each unit of the citation ends with a period.
LaSalle, Peter. “Conundrum: A Story about Reading.” New England Review 38, no. 1 (2017): 95–109. Project MUSE.
The name of an article or chapter is always in quotation marks; the work that it is part of (journal or book) is italicized. Journals have a volume number, which usually changes once per year; they may have an issue number ("no. 1") or a season or month (winter 2016), or both. Include the full range of page numbers.
![note 1. Author Firstname Lastname, “Article Title,” Title of Journal [vol. #], no. [issue #] (Month Year): page numbers. bibliography Author Lastname, Firstname. “Article Title.” Title of Journal [vol. #] no. [issue #] (Month Year): page numbers. Platform or URL/DOI.](http://libapps.s3.amazonaws.com/accounts/30877/images/Screen_Shot_2020-07-21_at_10.25.31_AM.png)
Chicago 17th (notes & bibliography) journal article templates:
In footnote or endnote
1. Author Firstname Lastname, “Article Title,” Title of Journal [vol. #], no. [issue #] (Month Year): page numbers.
In bibliography entry
Author Lastname, Firstname. “Article Title.” Title of Journal [vol. #] no. [issue #] (Month Year): page numbers. Platform or URL/DOI.
Chicago 17th (notes & bibliography) book templates:
in footnote or endnote
1. Author Firstname Lastname, Title of Book, (City: Publisher, Year), page numbers.
in bibliography entry
Author Lastname, Firstname. Title of Book. City: Publisher, Year. URL/DOI.
Chicago 17th (notes & bibliography) book chapter templates:
in footnote or endnote
1. Author Firstname Lastname, “Chapter of Book” in Title of Book, ed. Firstname Lastname, nth ed., (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year), page numbers, URL/DOI.
in bibliography entry
Author Lastname, Firstname. “Chapter Title.” In Book, edited by Firstname Lastname. City: Publisher, Year. URL/DOI/Medium.
(screenshot of Chicago Manual of Style citation guide web site taken 7/21/20).