LibGuides: Hist 489A/689A (Curry): Secondary sources

recommended by Professor Curry

Ecological Imperialism by Alfred W. Crosby (Contribution by); Donald Worster (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9780521837323

Publication Date: 2004
Plague, Quarantines and Geopolitics in the Ottoman Empire by Birsen Bulmus
ISBN: 9780748646593

Publication Date: 2012
Global Crisis by Geoffrey Parker
Call Number: Lied Library Book Stacks D247 .P37 2013

ISBN: 1299284221

Publication Date: 2013

Secondary Sources: Books and Articles

Historical Abstracts with Full Text
1954-
Journal articles and books about world history from 1450 forward (Does not include the United States and Canada). Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Historical Abstracts identifies journal articles about the history of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding the United States and Canada (See: America: History and Life). Articles from over 2,000 journals are indexed and annotated, and the database includes over half a million entries in all. A select 3,000 books are also listed.
Academic Search Premier
Searchable articles from academic and professional journals and magazines covering every academic discipline.
Update frequency: Updated daily
This excellent one-stop resource lets you search citations and summaries by keyword and then instantly retrieve the full text of articles from journals online. The Get Text button helps you locate any article without linked full text in alternate online sources or in UNLV's print journal collection.
JSTOR
An archive of more than 700 important scholarly journals covering business, ecology, education, ethnic studies, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and sociology with content ending 3-5 years ago
JSTOR digitally archives more than 700 scholarly journals. Subjects include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and more.
Project MUSE
1995-
Scholarly journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Update frequency: monthly
WorldCat
11th century -
Use WorldCat to search the holdings of academic, public and special libraries around the world.
This union catalog contains records of books and other items in libraries worldwide. Items owned by UNLV Libraries are indicated; UNLV students, faculty and staff may request books via Document Delivery Services.
Dissertations and Theses
Good for: Dissertations and theses.
Contains: Citations, abstracts, and full text of dissertations and theses.
Dates covered: Citations from 1861, abstracts from 1980 for dissertations and 1988 for theses, full text from 1996 for UNLV items and 1997 for most others.

Recommendations for other disciplines

List of subject guides at UNLV
What's the best place to look for articles in music or geosciences or public health? Check the guide!

Review essays

Oxford Handbooks Online
Scholarly research reviews and historiographical essays published in the Oxford Handbooks series. Use these to get an overview of how historians have approached a topic.

History Compass
This journal publishes review articles that let you get an overview of current scholarship on historical topics.

The Oxford Handbook of Environmental History by Andrew C. Isenberg (Editor)
ISBN: 9780195324907

Publication Date: 2014-10-16

Example review essay

History Compass: Some Perspectives on Societal Impacts of Past Climatic Changes by Henry Diaz, Valerie Trouet
Overview of recent scholarship by historians about climate change

Hist 489A/689A (Curry): Secondary sources

recommended by Professor Curry

Secondary Sources: Books and Articles

Review essays

Locations

Contact