Medieval and early modern illustrations
Collection featuring more than 900 illuminated manuscripts. Images available for free under a All of these images are released for free under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported license.
Database including collection of illuminated manuscripts relating to medicine. High resolution images available to download through a Creative Commons License.
Open-access images of objects in the collection of the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Search filter set for European manuscripts, however the database contains images from other historical periods.
Iconographic search generator (using keyterms) to find images in the manuscript collection of the Morgan Library and Museum (New York).
Images may be used for non-commercial research purposes, with appropriate credit. Downloadable version of each image is low-resolution, high resolution images must be requested and may require fees.
Digitized images from Bodleian Library Special Collections. Searchable by shelfmark, iconographic subject, and text.
Database of more than 1200 images from French illuminated manuscripts.
Collection of over 300 manuscripts, many illuminated originally housed at the monastic abbey in Lorsch. Today the manuscripts are found in different repositories across Europe, however this database virtually reunites them. Image copyright rules are different depending on the library, see the website for further details.
The Bibliothèque Nationale de France digital library. Gallica is one of the major digital libraries available for free via the Internet.
Images available to download in high resolution from the J. Paul Getty Collection through the Getty's Open Content Program. Images available through this program will have the caption, "This image is available for download, without charge, under the Getty’s Open Content Program," directly under the image.
Image Database dedicated to the free-exchange of image resources, hosted by the Minneapolis College of Art and Design.
