Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citing Resources from Special Collections and Archives

Suggested citations for unique items in Special Collections & Archives

Chicago Manual of Style 17th ed.

Consult the Chicago Manual of Style 17th ed. section 14.221-14.331 for an extended discussion of note and bibliography forms for manuscript collections. Alternately, see A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, 8th ed. sec. 17.7.4.

general template:

note

Author (if available), Item title, date, collection name, reference number or box/folder details, Special Collections and Archives, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas.

bibliography

Item author. Item title, date. Collection name. Reference number or box/folder details. Special Collections and Archives, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas.

Example Chicago 17th (notes and bibliography)

note

Union Pacific Railroad Company, Aerial photograph of guests at the Riviera Hotel swimming pool (Las Vegas), after 1955, Dreaming the Skyline: Resort Architecture and New Urban Space, Special Collections and Archives, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas.  d.library.unlv.edu/digital/collection/sky/id/81/rec/3

bibliography

Union Pacific Railroad Company. Aerial photograph of guests at the Riviera Hotel swimming pool (Las Vegas), after 1955. Dreaming the Skyline: Resort Architecture and New Urban Space. Special Collections and Archives, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas.  d.library.unlv.edu/digital/collection/sky/id/81/rec/3

note

Rinker, Cleveland A. Earle, Letter from C. A. Earle Rinker to his mother, October 15, 1907, Southern Nevada: The Boomtown Years, Special Collections and Archives, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. d.library.unlv.edu/digital/collection/snv/id/3455

bibliography

Rinker, Cleveland A. Earle. Letter from C. A. Earle Rinker to his mother, October 15, 1907. Southern Nevada: The Boomtown Years. Special Collections and Archives, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. d.library.unlv.edu/digital/collection/snv/id/3455

 

note

Rinker, Cleveland A. Earle, Letter from C. A. Earle Rinker to his mother, October 15, 1907, C. A. Earle Rinker Papers, 1880-1960 (MS-00514, box 2, folder 4), Special Collections and Archives, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. 

bibliography

Rinker, Cleveland A. Earle. Letter from C. A. Earle Rinker to his mother, October 15, 1907. C. A. Earle Rinker Papers, 1880-1960 (MS-00514, box 2, folder 4). Special Collections and Archives, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. 

note

Kline, Geoconda Arguello. Transcript of interview with Geoconda Arguello Kline by Claytee D. White, Sept. 18, 2014, Boyer Early Las Vegas History Project, Special Collections and Archives, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. https://cdm17304.contentdm.oclc.org/digital/collection/ohi/id/338/rec/1

bibliography

Kline, Geoconda Arguello. Transcript of interview with Geoconda Arguello Kline by Claytee D. White, Sept. 18, 2014. Boyer Early Las Vegas History Project. Special Collections and Archives, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. https://cdm17304.contentdm.oclc.org/digital/collection/ohi/id/338/rec/1

note

Stage productions, November 1963 [ledger and correspondence], Copa Girls, 1952-1967, in Sands Hotel & Casino Public Relations records MS-00417 (box 19 folder 2), Special Collections and Archives, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas.

bibliography

Stage productions, November 1963 [ledger and correspondence]. Copa Girls, 1952-1967, in Sands Hotel & Casino Public Relations records MS-00417 (box 19 folder 2). Special Collections and Archives, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas.

© University of Nevada Las Vegas