Skip to main content

Citing Resources from Special Collections and Archives

Suggested citations for unique items in Special Collections & Archives

Guidance from APA

general template:

Creator or author. Item name [format if needed]. (Date). Item title. Collection name. (Collection number and location within collection), Special Collections and Archives, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada. URL if online.

Unique materials from a university archive are considered “works of limited circulation” for the purpose of APA style citations. Therefore, they must include details documenting their location.

When no title is provided, you may create a descriptive title and enclose it in brackets. You may also include a bracketed description of the format. Consult section 10.8 Unpublished Works and Informally Published Works in the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th ed., for a template.

Example APA citations

Union Pacific Railroad Company. (after 1955). Aerial photograph of guests at the Riviera Hotel swimming pool (Las Vegas). Dreaming the Skyline: Resort Architecture and New Urban Space. Special Collections and Archives, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas.  d.library.unlv.edu/digital/collection/sky/id/81/rec/3

Rinker, Cleveland A. Earle. (1907, Oct. 15). Letter from C. A. Earle Rinker to his mother. Southern Nevada: The Boomtown Years. Special Collections and Archives, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. d.library.unlv.edu/digital/collection/snv/id/3455

 

Rinker, Cleveland A. Earle. (1907, Oct. 15). Letter from C. A. Earle Rinker to his mother. C. A. Earle Rinker Papers, 1880-1960 (MS-00514, box 2, folder 4). Special Collections and Archives, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.

Kline, Geoconda Arguello. (2014, Sept. 18). Transcript of interview with Geoconda Arguello Kline by Claytee D. White. Boyer Early Las Vegas History Project. Special Collections and Archives, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. https://cdm17304.contentdm.oclc.org/digital/collection/ohi/id/338/rec/1

Stage productions, November 1963 [ledger and correspondence]. Copa Girls, 1952-1967, in Sands Hotel & Casino Public Relations records MS-00417 (box 19 folder 2), Special Collections and Archives, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.

© University of Nevada Las Vegas