UME Student Guide

WELCOME
to the School of Medicine Library's UME Student Guide

About this guide
This guide is meant to act as your go-to resource to learn the basics about the School of Medicine Library. We have a vast array of resources, programs and services to offer, so you can think of this guide as your curated list to get through the day-to-day of medical school.

The first page contains the information most crucial to get started using our space and resources. Use the navigation menu to find your booklists with links directly to the ebooks, additional study aids, and more information about spaces and services.
 

Location and hours

Location

The entrance to the School of Medicine Library and our service desk are located on the south side of the 3rd floor (looking toward the Strip) in the Medical Education Building (MEB). Additionally, there is an internal staircase leading to a bank of study rooms and the makerspace on the 4th floor.

Hours

The Service Desk is staffed Monday-Friday 8:00 am-5:00 pm (except holidays).

Kirk Kerkorian School of Medicine at UNLV students, residents, fellows, faculty, instructors and staff have 24/7 access to the 3rd and 4th floor space with badge entry.

Important accounts for the UNLV Libraries

ACE Account

• Your UNLV ACE account can be used to access online library materials including databases, journal articles, and streaming videos from off-campus. Refer to the Accessing online resources section for more information.
• For help with your ACE account, please contact campus IT

RebelCard and account

• An active RebelCard is required to check physical items out of the library and request items through Interlibrary Loan
• You must have money on your RebelCard account in order to print in the SoML

Interlibrary loan account

• Interlibrary loan (ILL) allows UNLV students, staff, and faculty to borrow from other libraries if items are not available at the University Libraries
• Materials include articles, books, book chapters, microform, videos, DVDs, CDs, and dissertations and theses
• Most articles arrive within 24 hours and books arrive within a week with some exceptions
• To request materials, log in or create a new ILLiad account (RebelCard barcode required)

Quick Search/library catalog account (optional)

There are additional features you can access if logged into Quick Search with your ACE account:

• Request items that are currently unavailable
• Renew items online
• View current checkouts
• View any fines, fees, or blocks on your account

Accessing online resources

MEB and UNLV Health offices

• Ensure you are using KSOM BYOD wifi or a computer directly connected to an ethernet port
  • You will not need to login to access library resources if you are using one of these two internet connections
• Use the School of Medicine Library website to go to popular databases and ebook collections via Quick Links, or to search the catalog
• Use the Research Guides page to find guides based on specific topics with curated links to resources

UNLV Maryland campus locations

• Install and run eduroam wifi or use a computer directly connected to an ethernet port
  • You will not need to login to access library resources if you are using one of these two internet connections

Off-campus (home, private clinics, hospitals)

• ALWAYS go through links from the School of Medicine Library website or a research guide 
• When you click a link to a database or resource from the library website or a research guide you will be prompted to log in with your ACE username and password
  • When using PubMed, you will not be prompted for your ACE credentials until you try to access the pdf of an article using the UNLV Full-Text link
  • This link will not appear unless you go to PubMed through the library website - limiting your access to thousands of articles

Services and collections overview

The School of Medicine Library faculty librarians partner with the Kirk Kerkorian School of Medicine at UNLV to provide education and consultation services on research, lifelong learning, and well-being. The library collections are digital-first, with 97% of databases, journals and books offered online. These are just a few pages across our website to get you started learning about everything we have to offer:

Research

• Research services
• Research guides
• Consult with a librarian

Technology

• Technology for check-out
• Computer lab software
• Citation management (EndNote)

Collections

• Medical databases
• Medical journals
• Medical humanities
• Graphic medicine