LibGuides: UME Student Guide: Clinical Decision Support Tools

Point-of-care

These tools are designed to be used at bedside (the point of care) to aid in clinical decisions. They present guidance and evidence to support decisions.

UpToDate
Good for: Accessing medical information.
Contains: Expert, peer-reviewed, physician-written health information.

UpToDate content is reviewed and updated regularly to maintain the currency, accuracy, and relevance of information. It includes: a drug database, drug interactions program, patient information handouts, medical calculators, treatment recommendations, and articles in medical specialty areas.
VisualDX
Good for: Identifying and classifying visible patient symptoms.
Contains: High-quality images.

Drug information resources

These resources present information about pharmaceuticals, dosing guides, pill identification, and drug interactions.

DailyMed
DailyMed is the official provider of FDA label information (package inserts).

Merck Index
Good for: Finding information about chemicals and their properties.
Contains: Information on chemicals, biologicals, and drugs.

Search by keyword, chemical formula, physical property and chemical structure. The Merck Index Online contains information from over 11,500 monographs and reference data.
UpToDate
After accessing UpToDate, use the Drug Interactions tab to search Lexicomp's database of drugs, graded by severity of interaction.

UpToDate content is reviewed and updated regularly to maintain the currency, accuracy, and relevance of information. It includes: a drug database, drug interactions program, patient information handouts, medical calculators, treatment recommendations, and articles in medical specialty areas.

PubChem
PubChem is a database of chemical molecules and their activities against biological assays. The system is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).

UME Student Guide

Contact us

Point-of-care

Drug information resources

Locations

Contact