LibGuides: PBL Resource Guide: Home

Problem-Based Learning Resources

This guide is designed to help you efficiently navigate to the clinical and health-related resources the library provides for your use. These resources include well-regarded texts, databases, learning collections, and websites that can help you address questions during PBL sessions and answer your Learning Inquiries.

Medical Dictionaries

Stedman's Medical Dictionary by Stedman's Medical Dictionary Staff (Created by); Thomas Lathrop Stedman
ISBN: 9780781733908

Stedman's Medical Dictionary, 28th Edition, is the most reliable resource available for healthcare professionals, including medical students, physicians, educators, researchers, and medical language specialists.
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary
ISBN: 9780803659056

Taber's® brings meanings to life. Taber's® is the all-in-one, go-to source in the classroom, clinical, and beyond. It places the language of nursing, medicine and the healthcare professions at the reader's fingertips.
Spanish-English Medical Dictionary by Glenn T. Rogers
ISBN: 9780071829113

Available only in print, sign in and request delivery from Lied.

This pocket-sized book contains virtually all health-related terms likely to occur in a conversation between a health worker and a Spanish-speaking patient, including common colloquialisms and slang terms not found in similar dictionaries.

Merriam-Webster's Medical Dictionary
Search medical terms and abbreviations with the most up-to-date and comprehensive medical dictionary from the reference experts at Merriam-Webster.
Merck Manual
One of the most widely used comprehensive medical resources for professionals and consumers. Provides medical information to a wide cross-section of users, including medical professionals and students, veterinarians and veterinary students, and consumers.

Read free icon designed by Freepik https://www.flaticon.com/free-icon/read_2991637 via @flaticon

Images & Multimedia Resources

AccessMedicine
Good for: Accessing medical reference texts and resources.
Contains: Key medical reference texts, multimedia library, case files, diagnostic tools, interactive self-assessment.
Clinical Key
Good for: Reliable, evidence-based medical information available at the point of care.
Contains: Clinical overviews, medical books and journals, drug information, procedure videos, clinical calculators, patient education handouts, practice guidelines, clinical trials, and MEDLINE® citations and abstracts.

In addition, Clinical Key provides access to nearly one million images, including tables, graphics and illustrations, as well as to full text journals, an evidence-based, point of care tool, guidelines, multimedia and much more.
Anatomy.TV
Good for: Studying 3D human anatomy.
Contains: 3D human anatomy models, educational resources, augmented reality features.
LWW Health Library Collections
Good for: Undergraduate and medical education.
Contains: Authoritative texts, cases, clinical skills, multimedia resources, and teaching and learning tools.

Red Book Visual Library
The resource provides access to over 2,700 images, immunization schedules, vaccine status tables and more.

Tip: Search radiology textbooks for CT, MRI and ultrasound images

Media free icons designed by Freepik https://www.flaticon.com/premium-icon/media_4674947?term=media via @flaticon

Lab Test Information

Testing.com (formerly Lab Tests Online)
Free website started by the American Association for Clinical Chemistry, now operated by OneCare Media with a Medical Advisory Board.

Ferri's Best Test by Fred F. Ferri
ISBN: 9780323511407

Experienced author Dr. Fred Ferri uses a unique, easy-to-follow format to simplify complex information and help you choose the best test to supplement your clinical diagnostic skills. Includes both lab and imaging tests for concise, convenient access to all diagnostic test options for more than 200 common diseases and disorders.
Laboratory Tests and Diagnostic Procedures by Cynthia C. Chernecky; Barbara J. Berger
ISBN: 9781455706945

Find complete answers to questions such as which laboratory tests to order or what the results might mean. Laboratory Tests and Diagnostic Procedures, 6th Edition covers more tests than any other reference of its kind, with over 900 lab tests and diagnostic procedures in all.

Blood Tube free icons designed by Freepik https://www.flaticon.com/premium-icon/blood-tube_4118673?term=blood%20test via @flaticon

Drug Information

DailyMed
The National Library of Medicine (NLM), a National Institutes of Health (NIH) institute, provides DailyMed to the public. It contains the labeling submitted to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) by companies.
Drugs.com
Find drug information such as common dosages, side effects and coupons/pricing. You can also search interactions, identify unlabeled pills through the pill identifier, and search drugs by class.
AccessMedicine Drug Monographs
Mechanisms of action and dosing information to guide treatment decisions. Filter by class and find patient information.
UpToDate: Drug Interactions
Use the "Drug Interactions" link at the top of the main page to learn about pharmaceuticals and possible interactions.

Capsules free icons designed by Freepik https://www.flaticon.com/free-icon/capsules_2937192?term=pills via @flaticon

PBL Resource Guide

Katie Houk, UME Librarian

Problem-Based Learning Resources

Medical Dictionaries

Images & Multimedia Resources

Lab Test Information

Drug Information

Locations

Contact