LibGuides: PBL Resource Guide: Books & Guidelines

Background Questions & Resources

As you begin your journey in medical school, many of the topics you are learning and the questions that you have are already established concepts in medicine. These are known as background questions, and can more easily be answered through books, statistics and websites than trying to synthesize information from individual research studies.

Background Questions

Use a how, what, when, or why question format (e.g. How do you diagnose rheumatoid arthritis? What is the life cycle of hookworm?)
May be looking for statistical information (e.g. How many people..., what is the prevalence of...)
Do not look for or compare outcomes due to an intervention

Background Resources

Textbooks
Anatomy Aids
Clinical Practice Guidelines
Review Articles

Woman free icons designed by Freepik https://www.flaticon.com/premium-icon/woman_2817057?term=question via @flaticon

Biomedical Sciences eBook Collections

The following are databases that contain some of the most well-regarded medical training texts. The suggested titles in the topic areas below are only an example of what can be found within these collections. If the texts below don't help, it might be worth further exploring one of these databases.

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Books covering biochemistry, microbiology, neurology, histology and more. Go to Books > Library> Basic Science to view all texts.
Clinical Key This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scroll down to "Deepen your Knowledge" and click on "Books." Filter by specialty on the left or search by a keyword to find specific titles in their collection that covers all aspects of medicine.
In addition, Clinical Key provides access to nearly one million images, including tables, graphics and illustrations, as well as to full text journals, an evidence-based, point of care tool, guidelines, multimedia and much more.
LWW Health Library Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Choose Medical Education. Click "Texts" to see all textbooks covering basic sciences and clinical skills, as well as test review.

Anatomy Books

Moore's Clinically Oriented Anatomy by Keith L. Moore; Arthur F. Dalley II; Anne M. R. Agur
ISBN: 9781496347213
Renowned for comprehensive coverage, the best-selling Clinically Oriented Anatomy guides students from initial anatomy and foundational science courses through clinical training and practice.
Gray's Anatomy for Students by Richard L. Drake; A. Wayne Vogl; Adam W. M. Mitchell
ISBN: 9780323393041
Easy to read, superbly illustrated, and clinically relevant, Gray's Anatomy for Students is a medical student's go-to text for essential information in human anatomy.
Netter's Clinical Anatomy by John T. Hansen
ISBN: 9780323531887
Focus on the clinically relevant aspects of anatomy and bridge normal anatomy to common clinical conditions with Netter's Clinical Anatomy, 4th Edition. This easy-to-read, visually stunning text features nearly 600 superb Netter-style illustrations that provide essential descriptions of anatomy, embryology, and pathology to help you understand their clinical relevance.

Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy contains more than 300 narrated videos of real human anatomic specimens
Bate's Visual Guide to Physical Examination
Bates' Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for advanced assessment or introduction to clinical medicine courses.

Biochemistry Books

Clinical Biochemistry: An Illustrated Colour Text by Michael Murphy; Rajeev Srivastava; Kevin Deans
ISBN: 9780702072987
Topics are clearly presented in a series of double-page 'learning units', each covering a particular aspect of clinical biochemistry. Four sections provide a core grounding in the subject: Introducing clinical biochemistry gives an insight into how modern hospital laboratories work, and includes an entirely new series of learning units on the interpretation of test results.
Harper's Illustrated Biochemistry Thirty-First Edition by P. Anthony Weil; Victor W. Rodwell; David Bender; Kathleen M. Botham; Peter J. Kennelly
ISBN: 9781259837937
Harper's Illustrated Biochemistry continues to emphasize the link between biochemistry and the understanding of disease states, disease pathology, and the practice of medicine. Featuring a full-color presentation and numerous medically relevant examples, Harper's presents a clear, succinct review of the fundamentals of biochemistry that every student must understand in order to succeed in medical school.
Marks' Basic Medical Biochemistry by Michael Lieberman; Alisa Peet
ISBN: 9781496324818
Marks' Basic Medical Biochemistry links biochemistry to physiology and pathophysiology, allowing students to apply fundamental concepts to the practice of medicine - from diagnosing patients to recommending effective treatments.

Genetics Books

Emery's Elements of Medical Genetics and Genomics by Peter D. Turnpenny; Sian Ellard; Ruth Cleaver
ISBN: 9780702079665
Long recognized as a leading textbook in this fast-moving field, Emery's Elements of Medical Genetics and Genomics offers current, complete information with a strong basis in practical clinical genetics and genomics for medical school and beyond.
Thompson and Thompson Genetics in Medicine by Robert L. Nussbaum; Roderick R. McInnes; Huntington F. Willard
ISBN: 9781437706963
Thompson & Thompson's Genetics in Medicine returns as one of the most favored texts in this fascinating and rapidly evolving field. By integrating the classic principles of human genetics with modern molecular genetics, this medical reference book utilizes a variety of learning tools to help you understand a wide range of genetic disorders.
Clinical Genomics: Practical Applications for Adult Patient Care by Michael T. Murray; Mark Babyatski; Monica Giovanni
ISBN: 9780071622448
Clinical Genomics helps healthcare providers translate the vast amount of new genomic data into successful clinical application. It is a comprehensive textbook and practical guide to the use of this information across a broad spectrum of adult diseases - from individual differences in drug responses, cardiac and cancer risks to Alzheimer's and other neurological and psychiatric disorders.

Histology Books

Junqueira's Basic Histology: Text and Atlas by Anthony L. Mescher
ISBN: 9781260462982
For more than four decades, this trusted classic has been considered the hands-down best overview of human tissue structure and function. Accessible yet comprehensive, Junqueiras Basic Histology provides everything you need to know about cell biology and histology, integrating the material with that of biochemistry, immunology, endocrinology, and physiology.
Netter's Essential Histology by William K. Ovalle; Patrick C. Nahirney
ISBN: 9780323694643
Concise and easy to use, it integrates gross anatomy and embryology with classic histology slides and state-of-the-art scanning electron microscopy, offering a clear, visual understanding of this complex subject. Additional histopathology images, more clinical boxes, and new histopathology content ensure that this textbook-atlas clearly presents the most indispensable histologic concepts and their clinical relevance.
Histology - A Text and Atlas by Michael H. Ross; Wojciech Pawlina
ISBN: 9781496383426
Combining a reader-friendly textbook and a rich, full-color atlas, this bestselling resource equips medical, dental, health professions, and undergraduate biology and cell biology students with a comprehensive grasp of the clinical and functional correlates of histology and a vivid understanding of the structural and functional details of cells, tissues, and organs.

Immunology Books

Basic Immunology by Abul K. Abbas; Andrew H. H. Lichtman; Shiv Pillai
ISBN: 9780323549431
This focused, easy-to-understand volume uses full-color illustrations and clinical images, useful tables, and practical features such as Summary Point boxes, end-of-chapter review questions, glossary terms, and clinical cases-all designed to help students master this complex topic in the most efficient, effective manner possible.
Cellular and Molecular Immunology by Abul K. Abbas; Andrew H. Lichtman; Shiv Pillai
ISBN: 9780323757485
Offering an unparalleled introduction to this complex field, it retains a practical, clinical focus while updating and revising all content to ensure clarity and comprehension, bringing readers fully up to date with new and emerging information in this challenging area.
Lippincott Illustrated Reviews: Immunology by Thao Doan; Fabio Lievano; Susan M. Viselli; Michelle Swanson-Mungerson
ISBN: 9781975151331
Offers an engaging, vividly illustrated presentation and all of the popular learning features of the Lippincott® Illustrated Review series to reinforce essential immunology concepts and connect basic science to real-life clinical situations.

Microbiology Books

Jawetz Melnick & Adelbergs Medical Microbiology 28 E by Steve Miller; Stefan Riedel; Stephen A. Morse; Timothy A. Mietzner
ISBN: 9781260012026
Understand the clinically relevant aspects of microbiology with this student-acclaimed, full-color review --- bolstered by case studies and hundreds of USMLE®-style review questions. Since 1954, Jawetz, Melnick & Adelberg's Medical Microbiology has been hailed by students, instructors, and clinicians as the single-best resource for understanding the roles microorganisms play in human health and illness.
Medical Microbiology by Patrick R. Murray; Ken S. Rosenthal; Michael A. Pfaller
ISBN: 9780323673228
The foremost text in this complex and fast-changing field, Medical Microbiology, 9th Edition, provides concise, up-to-date, and understandable explanations of key concepts in medical microbiology, immunology, and the microbes that cause human disease.
Schaechter's Mechanisms of Microbial Disease by N. Cary Engleberg; Victor DiRita (Editor); Michael Imperiale (Editor)
ISBN: 9781975151485
This trusted text is universally praised for "telling the story of a pathogen" in an engaging way, facilitating learning and recall by emphasizing unifying principles and paradigms. Content is uniquely organized by microbial class and by organ system, making it equally at home in traditional and systems-based curricula.

Neuroanatomy Books

Neuroanatomy Atlas in Clinical Context: Structures, Sections, Systems, and Syndromes by Duane E. Haines
ISBN: 9781496384164
Neuroanatomy Atlas in Clinical Context is unique in integrating clinical information, correlations, and terminology with neuroanatomical concepts.
Neuroanatomy Text and Atlas by John D. Martin; John D. Martin
ISBN: 9781259642487
Neuroanatomy:Text and Atlas covers neuroanatomy from both a functional and regional perspective to provide an understanding of how the components of the central nervous system work together to sense the world around us, regulate body systems, and produce behavior.

Pathology Books

Pathophysiology of Disease: an Introduction to Clinical Medicine 8E by Gary D. Hammer; Stephen J. McPhee
ISBN: 9781260026504
The goal of this trusted text is to introduce you to clinical medicine by reviewing the pathophysiologic basis of 132 diseases (and associated signs and symptoms) commonly encountered in medical practice.
Rubin's Pathology: Mechanisms of Human Disease by David S. Strayer (Editor); Jeffrey E. Saffitz (Editor); Emanuel Rubin (Consultant Editor)
ISBN: 9781496386144
With a simple approach to essential information, Rubin's Pathology: Mechanisms of Human Disease establishes the foundation for medical training and practice and delivers the perfect balance of basic pathology and bedside perspective to confidently and efficiently equip students for clinical success.
Principles of Rubin's Pathology by Howard M. Reisner; Emanuel Rubin
ISBN: 9781496350329
Principles of Rubin's Pathology distills the renowned coverage of Rubin's Pathology, Seventh Edition into a focused, approachable guide to the essentials of pathology.

Pediatrics Books

Red Book Online
Written by top experts in the field, the Red Book provides detailed information on pediatric infectious disease from the American Academy of Pediatrics.

The Harriet Lane Handbook by Johns Hopkins Hospital
ISBN: 9780323674072
Easy to use, concise, and complete, this essential manual keeps you current with new guidelines, practice parameters, pharmacology, and more.
Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics by Karen Marcdante; Robert M. Kliegman
ISBN: 9780323511452
Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics is a concise, focused resource for medical students, pediatric residents, PAs, and nurse practitioners.
Zitelli and Davis' Atlas of Pediatric Physical Diagnosis by Basil J. Zitelli; Sara C. McIntire; Andrew J. Nowalk
ISBN: 9780323393034
Gold standard atlas of pediatric diagnosis for residents and physicians. Thousands of high-quality clinical photographs are paired with authoritative clinical content, covering both common and uncommon pediatric disorders.
CURRENT Diagnosis and Treatment: Pediatrics by Mark J. Abzug; William W. Hay; Myron J. Levin; Robin R. Deterding
ISBN: 9780071848541
The most practical, up-to-date, well-referenced guide to the diagnosis and treatment of the medical problems of children - from birth to adolescence.

Pharmacology Books

Dale's Pharmacology Condensed by Clive P. Page; Simon Pitchford
ISBN: 9780702078187
Covering the essential basic science and principles of pharmacology using concise text and diagrams, Dale's Pharmacology Condensed presents the key facts and concepts that are key to understanding how drugs work and their underlying pathophysiological processes.
Goodman and Gilman's the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics by Laurence Brunton; Bjorn Knollmann; Randa Hilal-Dandan
ISBN: 9781259584732
Goodman & Gilman's careful balance of basic science and clinical application has guided thousands of practitioners and students to a clear understanding of the drugs essential to preventing, diagnosing, and treating disease.
Basic Concepts in Pharmacology: What You Need to Know for Each Drug Class by Janet L. Stringer
ISBN: 9781259861079
Provides you with a complete framework for studying - and understanding - the fundamental principles of drug actions. This unique resource presents drugs by classes, details exactly what you need to know about each class, and reinforces key concepts and definitions.

Psychiatry Books

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders - DSM-5 by American Psychiatric Association Staff; Kernberg
ISBN: 9780890425558
Publication Date: 2013
an authoritative volume that defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings--inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care.
Psychiatry by Janis Cutler (Editor)
ISBN: 0199326088
Publication Date: 2014
Fully updated for DSM-5 and designed specifically for medical students, as well as other trainees in the heath professions, Psychiatry 3e is a dynamic introductory textbook in psychiatry. Ideally suited for first and second year medical students during their psychopathology course and third year medical students during their psychiatry clerkship.
Textbook of Medical Psychiatry by Paul Summergrad (Editor); David A. Silbersweig (Editor); Philip R. Muskin (Editor); John Querques (Editor)
ISBN: 1615372822
Publication Date: 2020
The Textbook of Medical Psychiatry was written for the wide range of clinicians who grapple with the diagnostic and treatment challenges inherent in this clinical reality: medical and psychiatric illnesses do not occur in isolation from one another.
Psychotic Disorders: A Practical Guide (2nd ed.) by Oliver Freudenreich
ISBN: 3030294501
Publication Date: 2020
This book provides clear and concise guidance for clinicians when they encounter a patient with psychosis, starting with the medical work-up to arrive at a diagnosis and ending with the comprehensive care for patients with established schizophrenia. It covers the optimal use of medications (emphasizing safe use) but also addresses other treatment approaches (psychological treatments, rehabilitation) and the larger societal context of care, including how to work effectively in complex systems.

Clinical Practice Texts

Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 20th ed. by J. Larry Jameson, Anthony S. Fauci, Dennis L. Kasper, Stephen L. Hauser, Dan L. Longo, Joseph Loscalzo
ISBN: 9780071802161
The landmark guide to internal medicine-- updated and streamlined for today's students and clinicians .
Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2022 by Fred F. Ferri (Editor)
ISBN: 9780323755702
This practical reference is updated annually to provide you with easy access to answers on 1,000 common medical conditions, including diseases and disorders, differential diagnoses, clinical algorithms, laboratory tests, and clinical practice guidelines-all carefully reviewed by experts in key clinical fields.
CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2022 by Maxine A. Papadakis; Stephen J. McPhee; Michael W. Rabow; Kenneth R. McQuaid
Call Number: https://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com/book.aspx?bookid=3081
ISBN: 9781264269389
CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2022 focuses completely on solving practical bedside clinical issues without spending too much time on pathophysiology. It includes full review of all primary care topics, including gynecology, obstetrics, dermatology, ophthalmology, otolaryngology, psychiatry, neurology, toxicology, and urology. You'll find everything you need to know about inpatient and outpatient care, along the with the most relevant diagnostic tools for day-to-day practice.
Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking by Lynn S. Bickley
ISBN: 9781469893419
Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking provides authoritative, step-by-step guidance on performing the patient interview and physical examination, applying clinical reasoning, shared decision-making, and other core assessment skills--all based on a firm understanding of clinical evidence.

Practice Guidelines & Guides to Care

CURRENT Practice Guidelines in Primary Care by Jacob A. David
ISBN: 9781264277681
Organized into topics related to disease screening, prevention and management, and further subdivided into organ systems for quick reference. Consolidates information from government agencies, medical and scientific organizations, and expert panels into concise recommendations and guidelines.

Clinical Key Guidelines
The latest Clinical Guidelines from leading organizations. Sort by specialty.
AccessMedicine DDx (Diagnosaurus)
Diagnosaurus provides differential diagnoses (DDx) of symptoms, signs, and diseases. By using the various indexes, you can choose to view entries by organ system, or select to view the list of symptoms only, the list of diseases only, or all of the entries.
ClinicalKey Clinical Overviews
Comprehensive topic summaries for clinical questions. Filter by specialty.
Trip Medical Database
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Use the filter for guidelines after doing a basic keyword search to find evidence-based practice guidelines quickly.

PBL Resource Guide

For a "Google-ish" Experience

Katie Houk, UME Librarian