LibGuides: Resources for Residents and Fellows: Acute Care Surgery

Click here to Search PubMed for articles

Point of Care Tools

UpToDate
Good for: Accessing medical information.
Contains: Expert, peer-reviewed, physician-written health information.

UpToDate content is reviewed and updated regularly to maintain the currency, accuracy, and relevance of information. It includes: a drug database, drug interactions program, patient information handouts, medical calculators, treatment recommendations, and articles in medical specialty areas.

Top Journals

The following is just an example of some of the top subscription journals in obstetrics and gynecology to which the SOML provides access. If you are looking for a particular journal, please use the UNLV Libraries' Journals A-Z search.

CHEST
Holdings: 2011-Present
Heart and Lung
Holdings: 1995-Present
Journal of Neurotrauma
Full text available: 2020-Present
Journal of Trauma & Acute Care Surgery
Full text available 2012-Present

Book Collections

The SOML subscribes to several eBook providers. The following are links to some of the more prominent collections available. If you wish to see if the library has a particular title available, please use the UNLV Quick Search and limit to "books."

AccessSurgery
Good for: Accessing surgical information and resources.
Contains: Surgical textbooks, videos, drug monographs, differential diagnoses tool, and board review tests.
LWW Health Library - Surgery
Good for: Studying general surgery and its subspecialties.
Contains: Core textbooks, 1,300+ Q&A, 18,000+ images.

Trauma, Eighth Edition by Ernest E. Moore; David V. Feliciano; Kenneth L. Mattox
ISBN: 9781259860676

Publication Date: 2017-05-24

Trauma is unquestionably the field's definitive text. Enhanced by a full-color design and a high-quality atlas of anatomic drawings and surgical approaches, this trusted classic takes readers through the full range of injuries the trauma surgeon is likely to encounter.
Acute Care Surgery by Andrew B. Peitzman; Philip S. Barie; L. D. Britt; Gregory Jurkovich
ISBN: 9781496370044

Publication Date: 2018-10-25

Over 10 new chapters that address topical issues, including career advancement, quality improvement, surgical rescue, and more.

Popular Databases

Databases allow you to search the content of multiple journals, conference proceedings, and sometimes even books, all at once. They are usually curated to cover a specific field or discipline of study. Topic-based searches, or searches that require multiple journal sources, are best-suited for these tools.

PubMed
PubMed is a service of the US National Library of Medicine that provides free access to MEDLINE, the NLM database of indexed citations and abstracts to medical, nursing, dental, veterinary, health care, and preclinical sciences journal articles.
Embase
Embase is an index to scholarly articles in medicine, biomedical sciences, and allied health subjects.
Scopus
Scopus is an index to peer-reviewed scientific, medical, technical, and social science literature.
Web of Science
Web of Science is a platform for Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts and Humanities Index, Journal Citation Reports, Biological Abstracts, MEDLINE, and Inspec.
Ovid MEDLINE
Over 23 million article citations and author abstracts from more than 5,600 biomedicine and life sciences journals.
PsycINFO
Contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields.

For More: A-Z List of Databases

Resources for Residents and Fellows

Research Support

Point of Care Tools

Top Journals

Book Collections

Popular Databases

Popular Databases

Locations

Contact