Remember to explore numerous keywords, synonyms, and a wide combination of keywords when you are searching the databases & Google Scholar.
Good for: Conducting academic research on all subjects.
Contains: Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.
Good for: Researching lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender communities.
Contains: Index to literature, plus journals, magazines, regional newspapers, and monographs/books.
Good for: Accessing full-text articles from the 50 journals published by APA.
Contains: Articles from peer-reviewed journals.
Dates covered: 1987-present.
Good for: Researching psychological literature.
Contains: Journal articles, books, and dissertations.
Dates covered: 1800-present.
Good for: Researching sociology and related disciplines.
Contains: Index to literature.
Dates covered: 1895-present.
Good for: Researching social gerontology, health care, public policy, employment, and consumer issues.
Contains: Abstracts.
Dates covered: 1978-present.
Good for: Researching child development and adolescent studies.
Contains: Current and historical scholarly literature.
Good for: Finding medical, nursing, dental, veterinary, health care, and preclinical sciences articles.
Contains: Indexed citations and abstracts to journal articles.
Good for: Dissertations and theses.
Contains: Citations, abstracts, and full text of dissertations and theses.
Dates covered: Citations from 1861, abstracts from 1980 for dissertations and 1988 for theses, full text from 1996 for UNLV items and 1997 for most others.
In addition to exploring a wide variety of keywords & synonyms, remember to look at the Cited By and Related Articles links.
A note about Google Scholar . . .
Although Google Scholar contains many resources, it does not contain access to all relevant resources for hospitality research. Researchers are strongly encouraged to look at the additional resources mentioned above to conduct a thorough literature review. You do not need to purchase articles via Google Scholar many are available for through the UNLV Libraries or via Interlibrary Loan.
For help connecting to UNLV Libraries' resources through Google Scholar see the following.
Provides a wealth of information relevant to the clinical practice of marriage and family therapy; includes listings of MFT graduate schools and state licensure boards.
AFTA membership consists of nearly 900 family therapy teachers, researchers and practitioners whose aim is the continued development of the field of family therapy; the Academy is a forum for the discussion of issues in the practice and teaching of family therapy, as well as research and theory.
American Psychological Association
APA is the leading scientific and professional organization representing psychology in the United States.
Provides international conferences and continuing education to promote quality standards for marriage and family therapy.
A nonpartisan, nonprofit, multidisciplinary professional organization focused solely on family research, policy and practice.
**Remember to look at what funding sources were used in scholarly articles and/or theses & dissertations. If funding was provided for the project, it will be listed in the study.
Good for: Finding reviews of English-language psychological tests.
Contains: Reviews of tests.
Dates covered: 1938-present.
Good for: Finding health and psychosocial assessment tools.
Contains: Abstracts from leading journals.
Good for: Information on diagnosing, treating, and researching mental health conditions.
Contains: DSM-5-TR, legacy editions of the DSM, books, journals, podcasts, and other resources from the American Psychiatric Association.
Good for: Designing research projects, planning studies, learning methodological approaches, gathering data, and understanding findings.
Contains: Tools and content for research methods.
Good for: Saving, organizing and formatting citations in your personal database.
Contains: Bibliography manager.
What is RefWorks?
RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic software package that enables you to:
"New" RefWorks Instructions
Good for: Managing and formatting citations.
Contains: Bibliography manager.
