Music, film, broadcasting and theater industry trade publications published before 2000 including Variety, Billboard, New Musical Express, Broadcasting, The Stage, American Film , Picturegoer and more.
Search major entertainment magazines for comprehensive information on specific films, plays, theaters, actors, directors, TV series, film studios, musicians, genres, record labels, subcultures and youth movements. These journals published industry news items, feature articles, in-depth interviews with major artists, photographs and illustrations, gossip columns, listings, reviews, charts and statistics and more
Includes full text of weekly Variety articles from July 19, 1993-present, and Daily Variety from April 27 1992-March 2013.
The news section delivers the full text of international, national and regional newspapers along with wire services, broadcast transcripts, magazines, and non-English language sources. The legal section contains U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews and international legal information. This includes Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789. The medical section supplies information from news and medical journals, and provides abstracts to medical news from Medline. The business section includes business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.
Contains full text of Daily Variety articles from 2004-2013, and select articles only from weekly Variety.
The full text of all editions of Dow Jones publications, the Wall Street Journal and Barron's, plus the Boston Globe, the Los Angeles Times, three months of the New York Times, and 8,000 other publications. 20,000 company reports and 8,500 editorially selected business Web sites are also available through the Factiva service. Contains television and radio transcripts, general business and industry magazines, company reports, and historical market data.
Each volume lists films released in the previous year, including a critical summary, a bibliography of other published reviews, and in some cases box office information. Volumes from 1982 through last year are in the reference area at call number PN 1993.3 .M34
The International Film Business examines the independent film sector as a business, and addresses the specific skills and knowledge it demands. It describes both the present state of the industry, the significant digital and social media developments that are continuing to take place, and what changes these might effect.