Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UNLV Logo

Hospitality College Part-time Instructor's Guide to Library Services & Resources

Finding Books, Articles and More from UNLV Libraries

Search for books and online articles from UNLV Libraries and beyond using Quick Search.

The default search results will include books, online journal articles, streaming video and more. Filters on the results page let you select materials by format, subject, date, or language, or you can opt to see only articles from peer-reviewed journals.

Log in with your ACE account to see results from more databases, to save and organize your items and searches, and to access your library account. 

Online Resources

Databases let you search collections of information organized around an academic subject, a type of information or a topic. For example, the Hospitality & Tourism Complete database indexes all articles published in hospitality-related journals. 

Research guides for every major at UNLV link to the best databases in that discipline, along with advice from subject specialist librarians.

Journals

UNLV has online subscriptions to many academic journals, professional and trade journals, and popular magazines and newspapers. To find the link to a specific journal, search for the name of the publication in the A-Z list below. 

Books

Books can be retrieved from the shelves or requested from the QuickSearch and held for pickup at the circulation desk. 

Some textbooks for high-enrollment classes are available for short term loans in the course reserves area via a program funded by the CSUN student government. 

Film & video

UNLV Libraries offer an extensive collection of movies, many of which can be viewed online. These movies are free to watch, but you will need to provide your ACE account information when streaming these movies from off-campus.

You can also use Quick Search to explore the collection of movies and videos.  

Once you have searched for a topic or title, on the right under Format, choose video recordings.  

Cameras, projectors, microphones, and other multimedia equipment

UNLV Libraries has equipment available to students to check out for class assignments.

Check out equipment at Lied Library’s 1st floor circulation desk.

Purchase Requests

If you wish to recommend an item to add to the collection, please fill out the information below as completely as possible. Recommendations will be forwarded to a liaison librarian for review and purchase consideration, but the library cannot guarantee the purchase of every item requested. Materials that support the research and teaching programs of the university are given first priority. Please suggest one purchase per form submission.

Assuming an item has been selected for purchase, ordering, shipping and processing can still take several weeks.  If you need the item in a shorter timeframe please use our InterLibrary Loan services to borrow from another library.

 

© University of Nevada Las Vegas