Skip to main content

ORCID @ UNLV: Using ORCID

This guide is intended for faculty and student researchers. It contains information about the Open Researcher and Contributor ID (ORCID) registry, including how to get, use, and connect your ORCID iD.

I've got an ORCID iD. What do I do now?

I've got an ORCID iD. What do I do now?

  1. Use your ORCID iD
  2. Verify your email
  3. Understand Privacy and Visibility
  4. Add a non-UNLV email address to your ORCID account to ensure you don't lose access if you change institutions
  5. Fill in your researcher bio
    • ORCID has fields for your email addresses, websites, names, keywords, and countries, but does not ask for a display gender, age, or ethnicity
    • All of the information you input can be privacy controlled
    • You control your preferred name and preferred sources for information
  6. Update your account
    • Import citations from databases
    • Manually add works to your ORCID record

[Image created by ORCID and used under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.]

1. Use Your ORCID iD

ORCID logo 64x64  Make Your Identifier Part of Your Workflow

The most important thing to do with an ORCID iD is use it! Add your ORCID iD to email signatures, online profiles, manuscript submissions, peer reviews, grant applications, and more. If a journal or conference you are submitting to does not have a way to include an ORCID iD with your information, consider contacting the editors or organizers and requesting that they make it an option.

2. Verify Your Email Address

Verify Your Email Address

From the ORCID blog:

To ensure that you and only you (or those to whom you have granted permission) can access and manage your record... a verified email address is required to access key features of your ORCID record.

Verifying your primary email address allows you to:

Verifying is not required in order to:

  • Add and edit your name and name variations
  • Change your account settings
  • Update your email addresses
  • Connect your ORCID iD to other systems and authorize them to read and update your ORCID record
  • Change the visibility of data that other systems have added to your ORCID record, or delete that data

For more on how (and why) to verify your primary email address, see the ORCID Support site.

3. Controlling Privacy and Visibility

You're In Control

Researcher control over access to and visibility of data is a fundamental principle of ORCID. There are three visibility settings for items in your profile:

Everyone

Information marked as everyone is public. It is visible to anyone who looks at your profile or uses ORCID's public API.

Trusted parties

Information marked as Trusted parties is limited. It is only visible to organizations that you have granted explicit permission to access your ORCID record.

Only me

Information marked as only me or is private. It is only visible to you after you have logged in.

For more information about ORCID and privacy, see their page on visibility settings and their privacy policy.

4. Biography and Details

Add Only What You Want

Fill out your ORCID profile with as much or as little information as you want. In addition to publications and other works, you might want to include:

  • biography
  • education
  • employment
  • keywords
  • alternate names
  • website(s)
  • email address(es)

You are not required to provide demographic data (age, gender, ethnicity), and all information you add is under your control. Each section and entry can be set as public, limited, or private: you decide what to enter and what to display publicly. Establish the preferred form of your name, hide your old email addresses, or improve your findability with keywords.

Import citations from databases

ORCID's Search & Link wizards allow you to import data about publications from databases such as Crossref and Scopus (ORCID has a full list of supported databases on their site). Watch this video to learn how!

How to import works into your ORCID record using a Search & Link wizard from ORCID on Vimeo.

This link provides more information on allowing databases to automatically update your ORCID account.

Collect and Connect

Collect and Connect

Collect and connect allows publishers, funders, and institutions to sync information with ORCID records: when you authorize a trusted party, you help validate the connections between you, your institution or funder, and your work. ORCID calls it "a set of resources and guidelines for ORCID integration and engagement." What does that mean for researchers? The more partners you authorize, the better the data sharing works, and the fewer times you have to enter information.

ORCID collect and connect diagram

Manually Add Works

You can manually add works to your ORCID profile. You may want to do this for presentations or other content that is not listed in databases such as Crossref.

To add a work click the Add works button then click the Add manually button.

You are required to include a Work Category, a Work Type, and a Title. For more information, take a look at ORCID's help page for manually adding works, or check out the list of supported Work Types if you want guidance choosing which one to use.

© University of Nevada Las Vegas