LibGuides: Biological Sciences: Getting Started

Melissa Bowles-Terry, Science Librarian

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

melissa.bowles-terry@unlv.edu

702-895-2121

Subjects: Chemistry & Biochemistry, Geoscience, Life Sciences, Mathematics, Physics & Astronomy, Science

Welcome Life Sciences students! This guide is a starting point for your information needs. Find articles, reports, books, and data.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1990-
Web of Science is a platform for Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts and Humanities Index, Journal Citation Reports, Biological Abstracts, MEDLINE, and Inspec.
Help?
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1960-
Scopus is an index to peer-reviewed scientific, medical, technical, and social science literature.
Scopus also features a citation index, allowing you to find the papers that cite a specific piece of research.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a service of the US National Library of Medicine that provides free access to MEDLINE, the NLM database of indexed citations and abstracts to medical, nursing, dental, veterinary, health care, and preclinical sciences journal articles. It also includes additional selected life sciences journals not found in MEDLINE.

Bergey's Manual of Systematics of Archaea and Bacteria This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides descriptions of the taxonomy, systematics, ecology, physiology and other biological properties of all described prokaryotic taxa.
Springer Protocols This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Laboratory protocols (procedures and techniques) in biology, medicine and biochemistry.
Update frequency: Annually
Scope: International
Springer Protocols is a searchable database of laboratory protocols. Links to lists of protocols within discipline areas--like bioinformatics or plant sciences--are also available.
JoVE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The University Libraries subscribes to the following collections: JoVE Education and JoVE Research