These databases are excellent sources for scholarly and research articles in education.
PLEASE NOTE: Most journal articles in these searchable databases will be available to you full-text online. Those that are not available full-text can be acquired via Interlibrary Loan at no cost with a turn-around time of 12-24 hours.
Good for: Researching education.
Contains: Journal articles, book chapters, and educational reports.
Dates covered: 1966-present.
Good for: Researching education topics.
Contains: Journal articles.
Dates covered: 1996-present.
Good for: Researching psychological literature.
Contains: Journal articles, books, and dissertations.
Dates covered: 1800-present.
Good for: Researching education topics in academic journals published by Sage.
Contains: Journal articles.
Good for: Researching child development and adolescent studies.
Contains: Current and historical scholarly literature.
Good for: Identifying reputable journals for publishing research in business, education, health, mathematics, nursing, and science.
Contains: Information about journal publishing opportunities.
Good for: Dissertations and theses.
Contains: Citations, abstracts, and full text of dissertations and theses.
Dates covered: Citations from 1861, abstracts from 1980 for dissertations and 1988 for theses, full text from 1996 for UNLV items and 1997 for most others.
Good for: Exploring a wide range of scholarly topics.
Contains: Scholarly journals, ebooks, art images and primary source collections
Good for: Preparing for standardized tests (e.g. GMAT, GRE, LSAT, MCAT, CBEST, Praxis, TOEFL).
Contains: Practice tests and study guides.
Effective August 5, 2025, EBSCO, the company that provides several of our Education databases, has a new user interface. See the tutorial below for an introduction on how to use this new interface.
Narrow/ Focus Your Search
|
Broaden/ Expand Your Search
|
|
Place quotation marks around words to search for an exact phrase, e.g., "high school" (works in many databases and Google) |
|
|
And or Not connector between concepts |
“Or” connector between synonyms |
|
Field Limiters, e.g., dates, type of document |
Truncation or Wildcard (e.g., child* to search for all terms beginning with child, e.g. child, children, childcare) |
|
Use the controlled vocabulary (human assigned main topics --Thesaurus) |
Free-text or keyword searching (computer mediated, no human intervention) |
|
Proximity searching, e.g., first year n3 retention (finds results in which first year is found within 3 words of retention) |
|
