Education

"Each well-thought-out lesson plan includes academic standards, downloadable handouts, and additional resources. The lesson plans are comprehensive and cover topics normally not included in the regular academic curricula. The site is well organized and easy to navigate. Users are able to quickly download entire units in PDF format to reprint and use in classes. This is a great resource for novice as well as master-level teachers. This site would be useful to undergraduate education students to help them plan effective lessons during methods courses or as a resource during student teaching." (reviewed in Choice Online, Dec. 2009)

Offers alignment of resources with Common Core Standards for K-12. Copyright restrictions vary by resource.

"Materials are chosen for their relevance to national curricular standards. The site often features links to supporting materials including essays and discussion questions, references to textbooks, follow-up suggestions, transcripts of an activity, and more. Learning objectives are available for some of the resources.... The Professional Development category is a video collection of teacher-demonstrated activities and techniques. Also of interest is a link to PBS TeacherLine, a finding tool for graduate and professional development courses...The materials may be readily accessed and incorporated into classroom presentations under specific copyright guidelines. Users should go to the Help section first. It covers account management, using the resources, all-important technical requirements, and legal considerations. " (Choice Reviews Online)

The Educators section allows searching by grade level or specific subject, as well as keyword . This site offers models of lesson plans in relation to discipline and grade-level standards of national educational organizations. Teachers can use the background information pages to prepare themselves to present lessons.

The collection brings together digitized materials from the UNLV Libraries Special Collections, the Nevada State Museum and Historical Society in Las Vegas, and the Clark County Museum to document the history and development of Southern Nevada from 1900 to 1925. Photographs, selected newspapers, maps, mining reports and surveys, stock certificates, correspondence, and more give a detailed account of life in the Boomtown years of Southern Nevada and provide a unique opportunity to show students what life was like through the eyes of those who lived it. Teaching activities are available for all grade levels and eleven subject areas and are meant to engage students in higher-level thinking while directly interacting with the primary sources housed in this collection.

Review from Choice Reviews Online: "Teachers, created by the Library of Congress (LC), is intended to serve as a "dashboard" for educators by linking to many of the institution's educational resources, including teachers' guides and lesson plans as well as several high-quality digitized holdings of special interest to this audience. Among them are the well-known American Memory collection (CH, Dec'05, 43-2404); the Today in History feature; and collections of songs, poetry, local histories, and art materials such as Lyrical Legacy, Community Roots, and LC's Poetry and Literature Center. Users see a disclaimer when directed to a site not managed by LC. One especially useful instructional resource accessible from the home page in the Spotlight on Teachers section is The Learning Page, a collection of teacher-created lesson and unit plans for use with grades 4-12 that supports the use of primary source documents in the study of history and literature. These lesson plans can be searched by theme, topic, discipline, or era. All documents explored through the lesson plans are available through LC's online collections. Suggested bibliographies of additional materials are included. Teachers also provides links to additional resources collocated for particular audiences such as parents, children, and librarians. This is an excellent free resource of curricular and primary source materials that support instruction in social studies and language arts, focusing on the American experience."

Includes a selection of articles related to music education, and an online video collection of musical performances and music advocacy presentations. An online music theory helper provides answers to common questions, such as an explanation of note duration. The portal is a one-stop commercial source for sheet music, music workbooks, instruments, and other equipment needed by music teachers and programs. The portal is attractive and easy to navigate, with quick links related to Music, Resources, Instruments, Music links, and Advocacy. (reviewed by Choice Online)

All articles written specifically for Action Bioscience undergo independent peer review prior to publication; articles by students are reviewed by educators or other professionals. Each article contains a valuable bibliography that provides links to other Web sites for further information. All links are to bona fide scientific organizations, new organizations, and relevant nongovernmental organizations, as well as to articles from the well-respected, peer-reviewed journal BioScience. Most articles are followed by a Get Involved section that encourages readers to become active in environmental activities. (Choice Reviews Online)

The videos are deliberately brief and concise. For example, the calculus module is divided into nearly 200 parts--very useful for students who want to review a concept or for those who need more repetition for mastery. Also includes some test prep materials (SAT-Math, GMAT, CAHSEE-CA HS Exit Exam).

The description of each learning tool includes its type and a small image of an example page. Users can also search by word or phrase. All resources are free and include only copyright-free or copyright-friendly images. This is a work in progress, and the project team encourages users to submit Web sites that they have found to be especially helpful. (Choice Reviews Online)

"The lessons within the Math Concepts strand are designed to integrate technology into the learning process. The strand includes spreadsheet basics; practice with factors, primes and functions, fractions, decimals, and percents; geometry; and working with data. Informational presentations are followed by opportunities to practice through classroom discussions and activities, computer lab activities, and other exercises. The Integrated Lessons strand focuses on mathematical problem solving and written communication and offers instructional strategies for resolving authentic mathematical questions. Examples include planning for a doughnut sale, a field trip, and investigating climate change. The Journaling strand emphasizes the use of writing to teach math and make the teaching process concrete by discussing teaching strategies for incorporating writing into math class: metacognition, peer evaluation of journal entries, writing opportunities in math class, managing math journals, encouraging students to write, and developing mathography--students' reflective pieces on their own history of learning mathematics. " (Choice Reviews)

"...detailed and clear graphics and handouts available in PDF format. As an added bonus, the site offers a detailed flowchart (available in four formats, including large-scale posters) portraying scientific inquiry as a dynamic process. The site also contains a simple search engine and a brief glossary of terms, and will soon offer more interactive features such as a "roll back the clock" science time machine. Updated weekly, with monthly newsletters available via e-mail, Understanding Science is a convenient and useful resource for all teachers and science education majors. " (Choice Reviews Online