Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UNLV Logo

Tracking Scholarship in the Humanities

Explore options for seeing where your work has been cited and read more about the ideology behind quantitative measures of 'scholarly impact.'

Citations Tracking

Citations can be tracked in a variety of databases. Some databases, tools, and other platforms have varied coverage of the Humanities. Many of these allow searching by author, publication, or journal. To determine if a database suits your individual needs, click on the link and attempt to search. 

Metrics Tools

Metrics, also known as research metrics or bibliometrics, is a measurement of scholarly research using quantitative methods such as citation counts, downloads, mentions, and more. Metrics are also used to demonstrate the impact of research publications at the journal, article, and author levels, which help faculty and researchers show the reach of their scholarship for tenure and promotion, job opportunities, and grant funding, among other things.

Altmetrics is used to refer to "alternative metrics" and are generally article-level metrics. Altmetrics attempts to fill a gap in more traditional metrics by using a more comprehensive range of sources, such as social media, news outlets, blog posts, and citation managers, in addition to citation and download counts to determine the impact (or "attention") of scholarship.

Tracking Book Citations

None of these are tools designed specifically for tracking citations of books or published in books. The best you can do is search through the full text of books to identify citations to your work.

Here are some large collections of academic books that are full-text searchable.

© University of Nevada Las Vegas