Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UNLV Logo

Open Access

This guide is to help UNLV authors learn about open access, article processing charges (APCs), avoiding predatory publishers, and open access policies.

Open Access Week in 2019

This year we are celebrating International Open Access Week in three key ways:

Campus event: Money, Power, and Publishing: Let's talk about information privilege and the open access movement

  • Did you know that access to research is often only available to those who have an employer or educational institution footing the (very expensive) bill? Information privilege affects those who need scholarly information to learn about health conditions, advocate for themselves, or improve their communities, but don't happen to work for or attend a university. What are the implications of only granting students and professors access to publicly-funded academic research?

    UNLV researchers, students, and instructors are invited to participate in a conversation, "Money, Power, and Publishing," on Wednesday, Oct. 23 from 1-2 p.m. in the Amargosa Room at Lied Library. The event will raise awareness of how academic work circulates online and the steps we can take to ensure our own work is accessible for everyday people around the globe.

  • Speakers: Chelsea Heinbach and Priscilla Finley
  • When/Where: Wednesday, October 23, 2019 @ 1pm in the Lied Library Amargosa Room. 

2nd Annual UNLV Open Access Awards

This year's awards go to:

  • Brookings Mountain West for a Non-Academic Department with the most materials in Digital Scholarship@UNLV Brookings Mountain West

  • The William F. Harrah College of Hospitality as the College with the most downloads in Digital Scholarship@UNLV in 2018-19

  • Marina Georgieva, Visiting Digital Collections Librarian, as the Library faculty member with the most open access publications added in Digital Scholarship@UNLV in 2018-19

  • Bing Zhang, Professor & Associate Dean for Research, College of Sciences, as the Non-Library faculty member with the most open access publications added in Digital Scholarship@UNLV in 2018-19

  • Michelle Tusan, Professor,  History Department for authoring the Faculty Publication with the most downloads in Digital Scholarship@UNLV in 2018-19 for her book “Smyrna's Ashes: Humanitarianism, Genocide And The Birth Of The Middle East” (2012)

And by taking over the University Libraries Blog - the post archives are stored below.

OA Week 2019: Welcome to Open Access Week 2019 (Dean Maggie Farrell)

On behalf of UNLV Libraries I’d like to welcome you to Open Access Week 2019. Open Access Week is an annual global event that provides an opportunity for the academic and research community to learn more about the potential benefits of unrestricted access to research such as journal articles and books. Through education and knowledge sharing, we hope that Open Access Week will inspire wider participation in, and adoption of Open Access and Open Sharing practices for disseminating your research.

The theme of this year’s Open Access Week is “Open for Whom? Equity in Open Knowledge”, with the aim of encouraging discussion and reflection on open access practices to ensure that open access is inclusive, equitable, and serves the needs of diverse communities like UNLV. To further this discussion the University Libraries is hosting “Money, Power, and Publishing: Let’s talk about Information Privilege and the Open Access Movement” a conversation that will raise awareness of how academic work circulates online and the steps we can take to ensure our own work is advances knowledge for everyday people around the globe.

Open Access week is just one way that UNLV University Libraries supports and encourages adoption of open research. We also have many ongoing services and initiatives which include:

  • The UNLV Open Article Fund, which provides funding support for UNLV researchers seeking to publish in fully open access journals that charge publishing costs.

  • Digital Scholarship@UNLV, an institutional repository that collects, preserves and shares the intellectual output of UNLV. UNLV researchers can submit full-text versions of their work to the repository to broaden the discoverability, access, and use of their research.

  • Workshops on identifying high quality journals and on author rights (so you can make your journal articles openly accessible). Similarly, we can consult with faculty on these issues. 

  • Expertise and knowledge. The University Libraries has expert staff who can assist you as you navigate your scholarly communication options and the opportunities of Open Access. Contact our Scholarly Communication Initiatives department or your Liaison Librarian whenever you need assistance. 

Please join UNLV Libraries in celebrating Open Access week!  

Dean, Maggie Farrell

OA Week 2019: Open Access Journals at UNLV

Did you know UNLV publishes several open access journals on the Digital Scholarship@UNLV platform?  As of fall 2019, we have six active journals including three that have or will publish their first articles this year. Journals published on the Digital Scholarship@UNLV platform are all affiliated with UNLV, each published by an academic or administrative unit on campus. If you are interested in learning more about this service, check our guide to Publishing a Journal on Digital Scholarship@UNLV.

New journals:

OA Week 2019: Highlighting OA materials supporting Breast Cancer Awareness month

Open Access (OA) publishing democratizes access to high-quality research. This can be especially impactful in the field of medical research, where OA enables the multi-directional sharing of research across geographic boundaries, giving both health-care practitioners and patients around the globe better access to relevant and recent medical information.

To highlight how OA can do this and in support of Breast Cancer Awareness month, Digital Scholarship@UNLV  wants to showcase some of the open access publications that relate to this important topic:

Find additional open access research in Digital Scholarship@UNLV.

OA Week 2019: Digital Scholarship@UNLV - Sharing UNLV research with the world

Digital Scholarship@UNLV is a service of the UNLV University Libraries for the faculty and students of UNLV. The mission is to capture, preserve, and share the intellectual output of UNLV faculty, staff, students, and collaborations with other stakeholders. Research and scholarly archived output includes: articles, monographs, audio/visual presentations, working papers, technical reports, conference papers/posters, theses/dissertations, data sets, and publicly-funded research.

The UNLV Libraries repository uses bepress Digital Commons software. It is organized by communities (divisions, research centers, publications, etc.) and collections that represent a variety of scholarly materials. If you are interested in starting up a community, collection, or creating/moving a traditionally-published journal to open access, please contact us at digitalscholarship@unlv.edu.

Learn more about Digital Scholarship@UNLV.

© University of Nevada Las Vegas