Click here to Search PubMed for articlesGood for: Accessing medical information at the point of care.
Contains: Customizable reference tool with medical information.
Good for: Accessing medical information.
Contains: Expert, peer-reviewed, physician-written health information.
Good for: Identifying and classifying visible patient symptoms.
Contains: High-quality images.
The following is just an example of some of the top subscription journals in obstetrics and gynecology to which the SOML provides access. If you are looking for a particular journal, please use the UNLV Libraries' Journals A-Z search.
The SOML subscribes to several eBook providers. The following are links to some of the more prominent collections available. If you wish to see if the library has a particular title available, please use the UNLV Quick Search and limit to "books."
Popular Titles
Berkowitz's Pediatrics
by
The reference of choice for pediatricians, residents and medical students, the newly revised and expanded 6th edition provides clear, practice-oriented guidance on the core knowledge in pediatrics. Edited by a leading primary care authority with more than one hundred contributors, the 6th edition provides comprehensive coverage of hundreds of topics ranging from temper tantrums and toilet training to adolescent depression and suicide. More than 155 (including 5 brand new) clinical chapters review pertinent epidemiology and pathophysiology, then give concise guidelines on what symptoms to look for, what alternative diagnoses to consider, what tests to order, and how to treat your patient. New in the 6th edition All chapters have been reviewed and updated to address current issues. Five new chapters are included on the following: Health Systems Science Population Health for Pediatricians Social Determinants of Health: Principles Adverse Childhood Experiences: Trauma Informed Care Commercially Exploited Children and Human Trafficking Student worksheets corresponding to each chapter's case study questions will be posted online in a user-friendly format so that they can be completed in preparation of discussions. Case study questions have been enhanced and resources have been revised. This edition is completely reorganized into 15 sections using a systems-based approach.
AAP Textbook of Pediatric Care
by
The landmark guide to pediatric medicine - updated and streamlined for today's clinicians and students For more than 80 years, the American Academy of Pediatrics has been the nation's leading and most trusted child health authority. The new second edition of AAP Textbook of Pediatric Care continues the tradition by providing a wealth of expert guidance spanning every aspect of current clinical practice. When you purchase the AAP Textbook of Pediatric Care, 2nd Edition print copy, you also receive FREE eBook access! Gain a better understanding of the relationship between mental and physiologic health and between early childhood adversity and long-term health outcomes. Deliver the best pediatric health care with step-by-step recommendations on what to do, when and how to do it, when to admit, and when to refer. Effectively integrate mental health care into routine primary pediatric care: mental health screening, surveillance, promotion, symptoms, and conditions are now fully integrated through the text. Expertly apply the latest approaches and techniques with 75 new chapters, including Planned Coordinated Care to Support the Medical Home; Pediatric History: Assessing the Social Environment; Promoting the Health of Young Children; Applying Behavior Change Science; Conducting the Health Supervision Visit; Psychosocial Therapies; Transitions to Adulthood; Children in Poverty; Maternal Depression; Disruptive Behavior and Aggression; and more. Diagnose, treat, and manage 85 of the most common physiologic and behavioral signs and symptoms more effectively. Includes more than 600 full-color photos and illustrations.
Good for: Finding information on pediatric patient care.
Contains: Well-care guides, acute-care answers, Red Book Online, Pediatric Patient Education library, and tool and resource collections.
Good for: Accessing pediatrics education and training resources.
Contains: Textbooks, multimedia, Q&A, algorithms, and case studies.
Good for: Reliable, evidence-based medical information available at the point of care.
Contains: Clinical overviews, medical books and journals, drug information, procedure videos, clinical calculators, patient education handouts, practice guidelines, clinical trials, and MEDLINE® citations and abstracts.
Good for: Finding information on pediatric infectious diseases.
Contains: Information written by experts.
Databases allow you to search the content of multiple journals, conference proceedings, and sometimes even books, all at once. They are usually curated to cover a specific field or discipline of study. Topic-based searches, or searches that require multiple journal sources, are best-suited for these tools.
For More: A-Z List of Databases
Undertaking a new research project? The Research Quick Start Guide has gathered together important information from across campus divisions to help you get started: from finding funding, submitting to review boards, managing citations, and best practices for communicating your research and tracking your professional impact.
