Standards Documents: Free online standards

This guide provides information about standards in the field of Accounting.

Access AHRI performance rating standards and guidelines for the HVACR and water heating industry for free.

"To support rapid response efforts to the COVID-19 pandemic, the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) is providing access to key international standards supporting biological evaluation of medical devices; protective clothing used in health care settings; and business continuity management, security, and resilience. The coordinator of the U.S. voluntary consensus standardization system, ANSI is also the U.S. member body to the International Organization for Standardization (ISO)."

"The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Incorporated by Reference (IBR) Portal provides a one-stop mechanism for access to standards that have been incorporated by reference in the U.S. Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). These standards incorporated by the U.S. government in rulemakings are offered at no cost in “read only” format and are presented for online reading. There are no print or download options."

ASHRAE provides online, read-only access to popular standards and many standards that are incorporated by reference into laws or code.

Search for and access .pdf files for Department of Defense standards and specification documents that have been cleared for public access.

"As the COVID-19 crisis unfolds in the U.S., AAMI is providing this curated collection of resources to assist the health technology field as they respond. While AAMI finds these sources to be credible and has compiled this collection as a service to the field, these references are not endorsed by AAMI and the inclusion of any reference or resource should not be construed as endorsement, promotion, or support of any organization."

"ASTM International is providing no-cost public access to important ASTM standards used in the production and testing of personal protective equipment - including face masks, medical gowns, gloves, and hand sanitizers - to support manufacturers, test labs, health care professionals, and the general public as they respond to the global COVID-19 public health emergency."

You may view online versions of certain ASTM standards that have been incorporated by reference into government codes and guidelines. There is no print or save option for the reading room materials.

"Since 1961 and continuing in full force today, Ecma International facilitates the timely creation of a wide range of global Information and Communications Technology (ICT) and Consumer Electronics (CE) standards." Ecma standards documents may be downloaded for free.

This webpage provides information about U.S. K-12 educational / curriculum standards.

Download ETSI standards for free.

"IEEE realizes that many of our IEEE Xplore users are directly or indirectly engaged in the fight against COVID-19 and its effects on global health and safety, research, infrastructure, communications, and more. IEEE has identified articles and standards from the IEEE Xplore digital library that may help researchers understand and manage different aspects of the COVID-19 pandemic and technologies that can be leveraged to combat it."

Note the legend for the meanings of blue and red text within the read only view of the fourth printing (2020) of the 2018 International Building Code.

"In accordance with ISO/IEC JTC 1 and the ISO and IEC Councils, these International Standards are publicly available for Standardization purposes."

This webpage provides a searchable directory of metadata standards for research data sets, in a wide variety of disciplines.

Publically available, current, North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) standards documents may be downloaded from this website. Available in English and French.

National Information Standards Organization (NISO) standards are free to download.

This U.S. National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) webpage lists several resources for accessing standards incorporated by reference in the United States' Code of Federal Regulations.

"As part of its commitment to enhancing public safety, NFPA makes its codes and standards available online to the public for free. Online access to NFPA's consensus documents conveniently places important safety information on the desktops of traditional users as well as others who have a keen interest. NFPA is committed to serving the public's increasing interest in technical information, and online access to these key codes is a valuable resource."

Learn how to register for online view-only access to UL standards documents. This access does not allow for download or printing of the standards.

The World Health Organization (WHO) provides free access to their health care waste management standards.

Download SAAMI standards for free.

NOCSAE standards may be downloaded for free.

SISO standards may be downloaded for free.

Snell Foundation provides helmet and other protective headgear standards for free.

The Making Personal Protective Equipment, Medical Devices & Supplies guide includes a section created and actively updated by the Engineering & Computer Science Library, U of T Libraries. Please check the "last updated" date on this page.