LibGuides: Black History Month Resources: UNLV Library Databases Focusing on Black History, African American Studies

UNLV Library Databases

African American Archives This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1792-1941
Primary source documents from the National Archives about the lives of African Americans in the 19th and early 20th centuries.
African American Historical Serials Collection, 1816-1922 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1816-1922
Newspapers and magazines published by African American churches, educational and service institutions.
African American Music Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of Black American musical expression.
African American Newspapers: The 19th Century This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1827-1902
African-American newspapers including The Colored American, all of Frederick Douglass’ newspapers, The Freedmen’s Record, and more.
African Writers Series This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Novels, plays, poetry, traditional African folk materials and non-fictional accounts of African culture and history.
Black Drama This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 1200 plays by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries.
Some 440 of the plays are published here for the first time, including a number by major authors.
Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1901-2000
Records from the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon administrations detailing the interaction between civil rights leaders and the federal government; includes FBI files on Martin Luther King Jr; records of the NAACP.
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarship and historical sources for Black Studies.

Black History Month Resources: UNLV Library Databases Focusing on Black History, African American Studies

UNLV Library Databases

Locations

Contact