Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UNLV Logo

International Students and Scholars - A Guide to the Library

This guide includes general information for important library resources, services, and locations. For in-depth academic research, see the subject guide for your discipline (e.g., anthropology, history, etc.), available at http://guides.library.unlv.edu/

The information below describes commonly used library materials and how to obtain them.

Textbooks

The majority of readings assigned by the instructor will be found in the textbooks for the class.

Textbooks are available for purchase at the UNLV Bookstore.

Books for research projects

UNLV has an extensive collection of books for research and relaxation.  If we don’t have the book you are looking for, we can usually get it from another library.  Borrowing privileges may vary.

Use QuickSearch to look for books in our Libraries.  The catalog will give you the book’s physical location and other important information.

If we don’t have what you are looking for, ask a staff member for assistance making an Interlibrary Loan request.

Journal articles

In many fields, expert researchers publish their work in scholarly journals.  Journal articles can be important sources of information for your own research.

Consult our research guides.  Subject specialist librarians provide advice for finding research in their areas of specialty.

Subject-specific databases can also be found on our Databases A to Z page.  Follow these instructions to get access from off campus.

Newspapers and magazines

Newspapers and magazines are a great way to keep up with current events.  

The databases Access World News and Nexis Uni have extensive news content.  Follow these instructions to get access from off campus.

The remodeled Leisure Reading area on the 2nd Floor of Lied Library features a Press Reader Kiosk, which enables downloads of international newspapers directly to your mobile device.

Movies

We have an extensive collection of movies – many stream directly to your device.  These movies are free to watch, but you will need to provide your ACE account information when streaming these movies from off campus.

Complete information is available here.

Kanopy Streaming Video includes a collection of foreign language films.

You can also use Quick Search to explore our collection of movies and videos.  Once you have searched for your title, use the limiters on the right to focus your search on videos.  Contact a staff member for assistance.

Cameras, projectors, microphones, and other multimedia equipment

We have equipment available for your class assignments or your personal projects.

See the Technology Lending page for information.  Check out equipment at Lied Library’s 1st floor Media Desk.

Laptops

You can check out laptops for up to 4 hours. All laptops must be returned 15 minutes before Lied Library closes.

Check out laptops at Lied Library’s Circulation Desk – 1st floor, near the main entrance.  tel:702-895-2111

© University of Nevada Las Vegas