LibGuides: Social Work: Finding Articles & Databases

Need Help?

Finding Journal Articles Tutorial

Ask A Librarian

Social Work Databases

Academic Search Premier
Good for: Conducting academic research on all subjects.
Contains: Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.
AgeLine
Good for: Researching social gerontology, health care, public policy, employment, and consumer issues.
Contains: Abstracts.
Dates covered: 1978-present.
Article First
Good for: Conducting academic research.
Contains: Citations for journal articles and books.
Book Review Digest Plus
Good for: Finding out where reviews of a book were published.
Contains: Book abstracts and excerpts and citations of book reviews.
Dates covered: 1983-present.

Provides citations and excerpts of reviews of current English-language fiction and nonfiction books for children and adults. An abstract of each book is also provided. To be indexed in Book Review Digest, a book must have been published or distributed in the United States or Canada. A work of nonfiction must have received reviews in two or more of the periodicals on the Book Review Digest selection list. A work of fiction must have received reviews in at least three of the periodicals. Reviews of textbooks, government publications, and technical books in law and the sciences are excluded.
Child Development and Adolescent Studies
Good for: Researching child development and adolescent studies.
Contains: Current and historical scholarly literature.
CINAHL
Good for: Researching nursing and allied health topics.
Contains: Index of nursing and allied health literature.
Dates covered: 1982-present.
CQ Press Library
Good for: Researching public policy and American government.
Contains: In-depth research on hot topics and legislative analysis.
Criminal Justice Abstracts
Good for: Researching criminology and related disciplines.
Contains: Journal articles.
Dates covered: 1960-current date.
Dissertations and Theses
Good for: Dissertations and theses.
Contains: Citations, abstracts, and full text of dissertations and theses.
Dates covered: Citations from 1861, abstracts from 1980 for dissertations and 1988 for theses, full text from 1996 for UNLV items and 1997 for most others.
Ebook Central
Good for: Academic books in all subject areas.
Contains: eBooks, reports, and other resources

A free account is required to download books for offline reading or to save highlighted passages and personal notes.
Emerald Library
Good for: Accessing social science and science information.
Contains: Scholarly journals, books, and case studies.

Subjects covered are management, marketing, human resources, production & economics, operations, library & information services, information management, training & education, and engineering.
ERIC
Good for: Researching education.
Contains: Journal articles, book chapters, and educational reports.
Dates covered: 1966-present.

Use ERIC to search abstracts of journal articles, book chapters, and reports from the field of education. Subject indexing allows you to zero in on all the articles relevant to your topic. ERIC digests offer overviews of significant scholarship on a topic.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Good for: Searching newspapers from ethnic, minority, and native communities in the United States.
Contains: Newspaper articles, editorials, and reviews.
Dates covered: 1959-present.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide
Good for: Researching family science, human ecology, human development, and social welfare.
Contains: Journal articles.
Dates covered: 1970-present.
GenderWatch
Good for: Researching gender issues.
Contains: Publications, reports, pamphlets, papers, and conference proceedings.
Dates covered: 1974-present.
Historical Statistics of the United States
Good for: Finding data on population, work and welfare, and international relations in the United States.
Contains: Statistical tables and historical analysis.
Dates covered: 1775-2000.

A source for quantitative indicators of American history, this database of almost 2000 tables covers nearly every quantifiable dimension in American history, including population, work and welfare, and international relations from the earliest times to the present. Chapters are preceded by essays that introduce the quantitative history of their subject, provide a guide to the sources, and offer expert advice on the reliability of the data and the limits that might be placed on their interpretation.
JSTOR
Good for: Exploring a wide range of scholarly topics.
Contains: Scholarly journals, ebooks, art images and primary source collections

JSTOR digitally archives more than 700 scholarly journals. Subjects include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and more. Also includes ARTSTOR collections from museums and collections of historical primary sources from libraries and cultural heritage organizations.
Medline via Web of Science
Good for: Finding medical and life sciences articles.
Contains: Citations to journal articles.
Dates covered: 1950-present.

Searching Medline on the Web of Knowledge platform allows you to also search several other databases at the same time.
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Good for: Finding reviews of English-language psychological tests.
Contains: Reviews of tests.
Dates covered: 1938-present.
NASW Clinical Register
Good for: Finding registered clinical social workers.
Contains: Listing of registered clinical social workers.

Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), this database provides a listing of registered clinical social workers, including their address and phone number; education and specialization; type of practice, and license information. These registered clinical social workers have met national standards for education and experience established by the NASW Competence Certification Commission.
U.S. Newsstream Collection
Good for: Finding current and recent news articles from major U.S. newspapers.
Contains: Articles from newspapers like the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, New York Times, and the Wall Street Journal.
Dates covered: 1980s-present.
PsychiatryOnline
Good for: Information on diagnosing, treating, and researching mental health conditions.
Contains: DSM-5-TR, legacy editions of the DSM, books, journals, podcasts, and other resources from the American Psychiatric Association.

The DSM-V is a standard resource for diagnosis in Psychology.
APA PsycINFO 1887-Current
Good for: Researching psychological literature.
Contains: Journal articles, books, and dissertations.
Dates covered: 1800-present.
PubMed
Good for: Finding medical, nursing, dental, veterinary, health care, and preclinical sciences articles.
Contains: Indexed citations and abstracts to journal articles.
RAND Reports
Good for: Researching social and political issues.
Contains: Think tank reports and documents.

Searches the RAND archive of over 17,000 titles dating back to 1948. RAND publications deal with such issues as national defense, education and training, health care, criminal and civil justice, labor and population, science and technology, community development, international relations, and regional studies.
Sage Journals Online
Good for: Researching social sciences, education, and history.
Contains: Articles.
Sage eReference Collection
Good for: Reference sources in the social sciences, education and history
Contains: Encyclopedias and handbooks

Reference titles cover a variety of subjects including history, sociology, psychology, criminal justice, political science, communications, social work, education and business.
Social Sciences Citation Index
Good for: Accessing bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references in social sciences journals.
Contains: Bibliographic information, abstracts, and cited references.

They also cover individually selected, relevant items from approximately 3,300 of the world's leading science and technology journals.
Social Work Abstracts
Good for: Finding professional journal articles about social work
Contains: Journal articles.
Dates covered: 1977-present.

From the National Association of Social Workers, this database provides access to professional journal articles about social work from all areas of the profession.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Good for: Researching sociology and related disciplines.
Contains: Index to literature.
Dates covered: 1895-present.

Includes selected journals, monographs, and conference papers. Encompasses all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, and many others.
Sociological Abstracts
Good for: Finding citations and abstracts of sociological research.
Contains: Citations and abstracts from journal articles, books, and association papers.
Dates covered: 1963-present.

Sociological Abstracts provides access to worldwide findings in theoretical and applied sociology, social science, and policy science. Included are citations and abstracts from journal articles, books, and association papers. The database includes research within the following topics: anthropology, business, collective behavior, community development, disaster studies, education, environmental studies, gender studies, gerontology, law and penology, marriage and family studies, medicine and health, racial interactions, social psychology, social work, sociological theory, stratification, substance abuse, urban studies, and violence.
Sociology: A Sage Collection
Good for: Researching contemporary sociology, ethnic studies, gender studies, social theory, the sociology of sport, and the sociology of work.
Contains: Journals.
Dates covered: 1987-present.

This searchable database covers such subjects as contemporary sociology, ethnic studies, gender studies, social theory, the sociology of sport and the sociology of work. Each bibliographic record in the collection links to the full text article in PDF format.
UNLV Libraries - Gateway to Government Information
Good for: Finding government publications.
Contains: Information on how to find government resources.

Government information resources include Congressional laws and hearings, nutrition, crime, diseases, endangered species, immigration, and much more.
UNLV Libraries Current Journal Holdings
Good for: Discovering and locating journals at UNLV Libraries.
Contains: Availability of online and print journal holdings.
WorldCat
Good for: Searching library holdings worldwide.
Contains: Catalog of library holdings.
Dates covered: 11th century-present.

Other databases

All UNLV Databases

Social Work

Need Help?

Social Work Databases

Other databases

Locations

Contact