LibGuides: Electrical and Computer Engineering: Finding Data & Statistics

Dataset News

US Dept. of Transportation - Vehicle Inventory and Use Survey
After nearly two decades, the Vehicle Inventory and Use Survey has returned. The 2021 survey data were posted in September 2023. Compiled by the USDOT's Bureau of Transportation Statistics, these data describe the physical and operational characteristics of the trucks on US roadways.
Harvard Law School Library Innovation Lab's archive of www.data.gov circa January 2025
If you find a dataset for your research is no longer available at a U.S. federal government website, you might be able to locate a copy within the Harvard Law School's Library Innovation Lab archive. "In recent months the Harvard Law School Library Innovation Lab has created a data vault to download, sign as authentic, and make available copies of public government data that is most valuable to researchers, scholars, civil society and the public at large across every field. To begin, we have collected major portions of the datasets tracked by data.gov, federal Github repositories, and PubMed. The Harvard Law School Library has collected government records and made them available to patrons for centuries, and this continues that work."

These links contain data and statistics about Engineers, Engineering Education, and Engineering Practice.

These links contain information about your potential clients, and the humans who will benefit from or use the products of your engineering practice.

Sage Data
Provides access to the extensive Data-Planet repository of standardized and structured statistical data.
Through a single platform, users can search and browse 25 billion data points in over 4.3 billion datasets sourced from over 75 authoritative government and private sources. The platform’s powerful functionality allows users to manipulate datasets, compare multiple indicators, chart trends over time and spatially represent data without requiring additional software programs. Multiple export options are provided. For more information on specific datasets and how to use Data-Planet, visit the Data-Planet LibGuide
SAGE Local & State Stats
SAGE Local & State Stats has been retired. Content has been migrated to DataPlanet

ASM Handbooks
Reference books about metals and other engineering materials, with information about properties, structure, and how the materials are made. Includes additive manufacturing techniques, including 3-D printing.

Springer Materials
A research platform dedicated to information on materials, their properties, and uses.

MatWeb: Material Property Data
A public database of materials data sheets contributed by material supplier companies.

SciFinder Scholar
1849-
First-time users must register here to access the site.
Index to scholarly chemistry literature and database of chemical information searchable by chemical name or structure.
Use the search options at the top of the page to search for references, chemicals, or reactions. Searching for chemicals and reactions can be achieved by drawing them with the Structure Editor or Reaction Editor, respectively.

AccessEngineering handbooks on material properties
The AccessEngineering database includes searchable full text of many handbooks and manuals that include materials property data. Use the Subject button to browse items in the subject Materials Engineering.

AccessEngineering
The Access Engineering database includes a Materials Property data visualization tool for several materials and properties: http://accessengineeringlibrary.com/datavis/material-properties#/
Instructors can also access Schaum's Outlines and curriculum materials to support course and assignment design.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Good for: Accessing chemical and physics data.
Contains: Tables of information on chemical properties, constants, conversion factors, and other chemistry- and physics-related topics.
Alternate name: Handbook of Chemistry and Physics Online
Inorganic Crystal Structure Database (ICSD)
Index to more than 177,000 known inorganic chemical crystal structures, synthesis data, and related literature. Searchable by chemical name, mineral name, and chemical formula and other characteristics, as well as article title or author.

Data Management Resources for UNLV
by Alyssa Renteria Last Updated Jun 10, 2025 531 views this year
Data Services
by Patrick Griffis Business Librarian Last Updated Aug 14, 2023 114 views this year
Data Sources
by Alyssa Renteria Last Updated Jun 5, 2025 556 views this year
Data Visualization
by Alyssa Renteria Last Updated Jun 12, 2025 2897 views this year
Getting Started with ArcGIS Online
by Alyssa Renteria Last Updated Jan 22, 2024 152 views this year
Getting Started with ArcGIS StoryMaps
by Alyssa Renteria Last Updated Aug 14, 2023 1076 views this year
Getting Started with Data Cleaning and OpenRefine
by Alyssa Renteria Last Updated Aug 14, 2023 1220 views this year
Getting Started with Venngage (Infographics)
by Alyssa Renteria Last Updated Aug 14, 2023 333 views this year
GIS
by Alyssa Renteria Last Updated May 5, 2025 3635 views this year
Non-Numeric (Qualitative) Data
by Xan Goodman, SON, IHS, SPH, SDM Health Sciences Librarian Last Updated Oct 2, 2024 194 views this year
Numeric (Quantitative) Data
by Patrick Griffis Business Librarian Last Updated Nov 25, 2024 826 views this year

DesignSafe-CI Data Depot - A Natural Hazards Engineering Research Infrastructure
Search public or published datasets related to natural hazards. Register with a user account to use simulation tools and upload your own datasets.

more... less...

User guides are found here: https://www.designsafe-ci.org/rw/user-guides/
US Department of Defense Data Resources
This library guide provides links to DOD information resources and unclassified government report repositories that are open to the public.