LibGuides: Kinesiology : Finding Articles & Databases

Media Resources

Docuseek2
Good for: Screening independent films and documentaries about social issues and educational topics.
Contains: Streaming videos.
Films on Demand
Good for: Viewing educational videos from Films Media Group in the humanities & social sciences, science, business & economics, health, archival films & newsreels.
Contains: Streaming educational videos.
Kanopy
Good for: Streaming videos including documentaries, features and independent films.
Contains: Films.

Source producers include Media Education Foundation, BBC, PBS, Kino Lorber, Documentary Educational Resources Collection, among others.
Swank Digital Campus
Good for: Viewing feature films for educational purposes.
Contains: Streaming feature films.

Available titles vary by semester. Films will play natively in most browsers; if not, see the Swank Digital Campus troubleshooting FAQ.

Selected Kinesiology Resources

American College of Sports Medicine
Includes sports medicine and exercise science resources such as physical activity guidelines and ACSM position papers.
American Council on Exercise
Information on personal-trainer certification as well as health and fitness information (including an exercise library).
American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine
Among the resources on this page are consensus statements, grant information, and patient information sheets.
National Coalition for Promoting Physical Activity
Includes a variety of reports, including some that include statistics about physical activity.

Kinesiology & Related Databases

The following searchable databases cover the health sciences including Kinesiology. Most of journal articles will be available to you full-text online. Those that are not available full-text can be acquired via Interlibrary Loan at no cost and with a turn-around time of 2 or 3 days. For more Kinesiology & related databases, see Recommended Resources.

Academic Search Premier
Good for: Conducting academic research on all subjects.
Contains: Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.
AccessPhysiotherapy
Good for: Accessing physical therapy and internal medicine resources.
Contains: Titles, interactive imaging content, curricular management tools, tests, videos, lectures, and image banks.
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy
Good for: Studying human anatomy.
Contains: Narrated videos of real human anatomic specimens.
Alt-HealthWatch
Good for: Researching complementary, integrative health and alternative medicine.
Contains: Articles.

Alt Health Watch offers abstracts or full text from 50 full-text journals and magazines. Covers such areas of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers the latest information about the evolving practice of holistic medicine and therapies.
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination
Good for: Learning physical examination techniques.
Contains: Videos demonstrating head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques.
BioMedCentral Open Access
Good for: Researching medicine and biology.
Contains: Peer-reviewed journals.
CINAHL
Good for: Researching nursing and allied health topics.
Contains: Index of nursing and allied health literature.
Dates covered: 1982-present.
Clinical Key
Good for: Reliable, evidence-based medical information available at the point of care.
Contains: Clinical overviews, medical books and journals, drug information, procedure videos, clinical calculators, patient education handouts, practice guidelines, clinical trials, and MEDLINE® citations and abstracts.

In addition, Clinical Key provides access to nearly one million images, including tables, graphics and illustrations, as well as to full text journals, an evidence-based, point of care tool, guidelines, multimedia and much more.
Cochrane Library
Good for: Finding evidence-based medicine reviews and information.
Contains: Collection of evidence-based medicine databases.
Dissertations and Theses
Good for: Dissertations and theses.
Contains: Citations, abstracts, and full text of dissertations and theses.
Dates covered: Citations from 1861, abstracts from 1980 for dissertations and 1988 for theses, full text from 1996 for UNLV items and 1997 for most others.
Dissertations and Theses: UNLV
Good for: Finding UNLV dissertations and theses.
Contains: Citations, abstracts, and full text of UNLV dissertations and theses.
Dates covered: Full text for most items begins in 1996.
Embase
Good for: Researching medicine, biomedical sciences, and allied health subjects.
Contains: Index of scholarly articles.

Embase content is indexed using a specialized thesaurus, Emtree, that includes biomedical, chemical, and drug terms. There is a special focus on drugs and devices.
Health and medical dictionaries in Credo Reference
Good for: Defining health and medical terms.
Contains: Health and medical dictionaries.

Includes Collins Dictionary of Medicine, Dictionary of Medical Acronyms & Abbreviations, Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary, Mosby's Dental Dictionary, Mosby's Dictionary of Complementary and Alternative Medicine, Mosby's Medical, Nursing and Allied Health Dictionary, Saunders Comprehensive Veterinary Dictionary, Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary and more.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)
Good for: Finding health and psychosocial assessment tools.
Contains: Abstracts from leading journals.

It also provides information about behavioral measurement instruments, including those from industrial organizational behavior and education. HaPI includes citations to freestanding instruments as well as instruments that have only appeared in journal or technical reports, published and unpublished.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Good for: Researching nursing and allied health topics.
Contains: Index of journals.
Dates covered: 1985-present.
Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database
Good for: Accessing evidence-based information for healthcare professionals.
Contains: Literature reviews, recommended practices and procedures, information guidelines, systematic reviews, protocols, consumer information sheets, and technical reports.
Journal Citation Reports
Good for: Analyzing the influence of scholarly periodicals.
Contains: Citation data (including impact factors) drawn from scholarly and technical journals worldwide

JCR gives information year-by-year on the impact factors of journals as well as the half-life (for how many years an article is cited after publication) of journals.
Journals@Ovid
Good for: Accessing Lippincott, Williams and Wilkins (LWW) nursing journals.
Contains: Nursing journals.

Journals@Ovid consists of two sets of nursing titles. One set has about 40 titles on nursing and health professions with content from 1997 to present. The Lippincott, Williams and Wilkins Legacy Archive Collection has 240 nursing titles with coverage ending after 1999.
LWW Total Access Collection
Good for: Accessing all LWW journals on OvidSP.
Contains: All LWW journals, including core journals and specialized resources.
Medline via OVID
Good for: Finding articles on biomedicine and life sciences.
Contains: Article citations and abstracts.
Medline via Web of Science
Good for: Finding medical and life sciences articles.
Contains: Citations to journal articles.
Dates covered: 1950-present.

Searching Medline on the Web of Knowledge platform allows you to also search several other databases at the same time.
SAGE Research Methods
Good for: Designing research projects, planning studies, learning methodological approaches, gathering data, and understanding findings.
Contains: Tools and content for research methods.

A collection of real social research case studies is incorporated to help understand abstract methodological concepts in practice. Datasets from both international and national sources accompanied by how-to guides covering numerous quantitative and qualitative research methods are included. SRM contains more than 600 books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, journal articles, videos, and handbooks as well as the entire Little Green Book (quantitative) and Little Blue Book (qualitative) series. A taxonomy of over 1400 methods terms is featured along with a Methods Map which visualizes relationships among methods terms, concepts, people, and literature. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.
Scopus
Good for: Researching peer-reviewed scientific, medical, technical, and social science literature.
Contains: Index to literature.
Dates covered: 1960-present.

Scopus also features a citation index, allowing you to find the papers that cite a specific piece of research.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
Good for: Researching sports, physical education, and sports medicine.
Contains: Journal articles and more.
Dates covered: 1975-present.

An international database indexing journal articles, books, conference proceedings, research papers, and dissertations and theses in sports medicine, biomechanics, psychology, coaching, physical education and fitness, training, and other related topics.
Web of Science
Good for: Researching a wide range of topics in science, social science, arts, and humanities.
Contains: Citations to scholarly journal articles and conference papers.
Dates covered: 1900-present.

Web of Science is a platform for Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts and Humanities Index, Journal Citation Reports, Biological Abstracts, MEDLINE, and Inspec.
Help?

Clinical Resources

Here are some recommended resources for use in clinical settings.

UpToDate
Good for: Accessing medical information.
Contains: Expert, peer-reviewed, physician-written health information.

UpToDate content is reviewed and updated regularly to maintain the currency, accuracy, and relevance of information. It includes: a drug database, drug interactions program, patient information handouts, medical calculators, treatment recommendations, and articles in medical specialty areas.

Kinesiology

Media Resources

Selected Kinesiology Resources

Kinesiology & Related Databases

Clinical Resources

Locations

Contact