Nevada History Day Research: Plan Your Visit

​Special Collections and Archives - 3rd floor, Lied Library

Calendar listing hours and holidays for Lied Library

Lied Library Service Desk Phone Numbers

RESEARCH TIPS

UNLV Libraries collects books, journal articles, historical newspapers, and research collections in print, online, and on microfilm. Students can use the UNLV Libraries Quick Search to identify relevant items from UNLV's collection. To find good sources, students should begin to gather information about

• The topic's date range or dates of specific events
• Key people and organizations related to their topic
• The geographic locale of the topic

BORROWING PRIVILEGES

Guest Borrowing privileges are available to non-UNLV affiliated persons who are at least 18 years old. Bring a government issued photo ID and a current valid credit card to sign up for a Borrower's Card. Parents who set up Guest Borrowing privileges MUST BE PRESENT when the Guest Card is used to check out materials.

CCSD Educators are eligible for extra borrowing privileges at the UNLV Libraries - bring proof of employment when you set up your card.

Books and other materials can be used in the library by all library users.

COMPUTERS AT THE UNLV LIBRARIES

• There are ONLY FIVE Catalog, Databases, and QuickScan Computers available in Lied Library which provide access to the library catalog and databases. They can also be used to scan documents up to 8.5"x14" large. These computers are located near the Research & Information Desk, ground floor.
• Internet and e-mail access is NOT available on Catalog, Databases, and QuickScan Computers.
• Visitors who bring laptops or mobile devices may use the UNLV-Guest wifi network for Internet access and access to UNLV Libraries' journals and other online resources.
• Teachers who wish to bring a group of students to conduct research should make arrangements at least two weeks in advance by contacting
  • Rachelle Weigel to visit Lied Library (702-895-2114; rachelle.weigel@unlv.edu)
  • Su Kim Chung to visit Special Collections (895-2241; sukim.chung@unlv.edu).

COMPUTER TIPS

• Bring a flash drive to copy research materials you download or scan during your visit

• Bring a laptop computer if possible to use UNLV-Guest wifi during your visit

PRINTING & PHOTOCOPYING

Pay for printing and photocopying using the RebelCash Guest Card.  Cards can be purchased at the Lied Library Circulation Desk for $10 ($5 for the reusable card + $5 of value for printing and copying).  Value can be added to the card in increments of $1 if using cash.  There are online options to put value on your RebelCash Guest Card.

PRINTING/PHOTOCOPY TIPS

• RebelCash Guest Card can be purchased using cash, credit or debit card.
• Photocopies: $.15/page (color and black & white)
• Printing
  • Black & White: $.03/page
  • Color: $.40/page

MICROFILM STATIONS

There is 1 microfilm reader behind the Reference / Computer Help Desk.  There is no charge to use these machines.  Bring a flash / thumb drive to capture your scanned images.