LibGuides: MUS 125: History of Rock and Roll: Finding Books & Biographical Information

Finding Books Using Quick Search

Quick Search
Use Quick Search to find books.

You can find biographies of musicians, histories of individual groups such as the Beatles or the Rolling Stones, or other histories of rock music, country music, blues, and much more in the UNLV Libraries collections. Using Quick Search, type in the name of your band or artist and choose the "books" option from the drop down menu. Books will generally have the location of UNLV Book Stacks and will be located in Lied Library.

You may also find ebooks of interest. For example, a book on Metallica entitled Metallica : the club dayz : live, raw and without a photo pit! is available as part of the library's ebook collections. Follow the link in the catalog record labeled Ebook Central Academic Complete to get to the ebook without coming into the library!

Online Music Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Bloomsbury Music and Sound This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarship about rock and roll and other popular music around the world, plus interdisciplinary studies of the theory, methodology, and practice of sound.
Includes the Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World, ebooks analyzing significant popular albums in the 33 1/3 series, and books about sound from disciplines like art, aesthetics, architecture, contemporary music, history, philosophy, technology, and cultural studies.

The Faber Companion to 20th Century Popular Music
This resources covers a cultural history of popular music as diverse as western swing, bebop, and psychedelic rock.

Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access is limited to 2-3 simultaneous users
The premier resource for music information.
Oxford Music online (formerly Grove Music Online) contains the New Grove Dictionary and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music. It is acknowledged as the premier authority in English on all aspects of music. Entries are extensive and contain work lists, bibliographies, terminology, and many other facets of music. Entries are updated and date stamped when needed. Oxford Music Online should be the first stop for any research or information seeking in music.

African American Music Reference
This resource contains many different types of materials, including books, newspapers, documentaries, interviews, and letters. The materials document African American music, including rock, country, jazz, and blues. You will be able to find much information on African American music and biographies of musicians in popular genres in this resource.

Additional Online Resources

Biography (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Images, brief biographies, and links to magazine articles and websites about notable people.
Biography Resource Center provides biographical information on more than 185,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Contains approximately 250,000 biographies and complete articles from nearly 250 periodicals. Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death years and places, nationality, ethnicity, occupation, or gender, or combine criteria.

The Artist or Band's Website
Start with the official website for your artist or band!
AllMusic.com
AllMusic is a comprehensive and in-depth resource for finding out more about the albums, bands, musicians and songs you love.

MUS 125: History of Rock and Roll: Finding Books & Biographical Information

Finding Books Using Quick Search

Online Music Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Additional Online Resources

Locations

Contact