LibGuides: Philosophy: Getting Started

humanities librarian

Priscilla Finley, humanities librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Lied Library LLB1187

(702) 895-2132

Subjects: English, Film Studies, History, Literature, Philosophy, Theater Arts, World Languages and Cultures

Recommended Resources

Philosopher's Index with Full Text

1940-
Journal articles, book chapters, monographs and dissertations in philosophy are indexed.

Philosophy Online (POIESIS)

Core philosophy journals

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Dynamic encyclopedia of philosophy.

PhilPapers

Current articles and preprints in philosophy.

Recommended resources

Philosopher's Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1940-
Journal articles, book chapters, monographs and dissertations in philosophy are indexed. Limited to 1 simultaneous user.
Update frequency: quarterly
Topics include aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, and metaphysics. 400+ journals are covered, with over 200,000 records. Full text articles and dissertations are linked when available; use the Get Text button to see the availability of book chapters and books in UNLV's print collection.
Philosophy Online (POIESIS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Core philosophy journals
It includes publications from philosophical societies, departments, university presses, and commercial publishers.
PhilPapers This link opens in a new window
Current articles and preprints in philosophy.
PhilPapers is a comprehensive directory of online philosophy articles and books by academic philosophers. They monitor journals in many areas of philosophy, as well as archives and personal pages, and they also accept articles directly from users who can provide links or upload copies. Some features require that you sign in first, but creating an account is easy and free. Registered users can arrange off-campus access - contact subject librarian for help.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Dynamic encyclopedia of philosophy.
Professional philosophers donate their time and labor to collaboratively write, referee, and maintain encyclopedia entries. A freely available encyclopedia.

Find a database or journal

All Library Databases
Select History from the subject drop-down menu to filter the list to just databases relevant to historians.
A-Z list of journals
Find out if UNLV subscribes to a specific journal or search within the contents of any single journal.

New!

Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly topic overviews and annotated bibliographies with expert literature reviews from a wide range of disciplines.
Video tutorial for Oxford Bibliographies

PhilPapers Bibliographies
Summaries and lists of key works related to philosophical concepts. The Key Works section identifies major critics or contributors and links to their essays.
Philosophy - A Brief Guide for Undergraduates
An overview of the discipline from the American Philosophical Association.

Philosophy Video

Bryan Magee’s Conversations With Famous Philosophers (1978-87)

Video links to a series of interviews

History of Ideas (BBC)
Two minute animated videos from BBC Radio 4's series A History of Ideas
Open Culture: Philosophy video sites reviewed
overview of 350+ freely available philosophy videos

Access your library accounts

Your library card account
Log in to Quick Search with your ACE account and then select "My Library Card" to view items checked out and fines.
Your ILLiad account
Articles from journals UNLV does not subscribe to can be requested and retrieved here.

Grants

Grants, Funding and Grant Writing
by Samantha Godbey Last Updated Oct 1, 2024 37 views this year

Philosophy