LibGuides: History: Exploring Nevada history

Recommended Books

Shepperson Series in Nevada History
Ebooks from the University of Nevada Press in the Wilbur S. Shepperson Series in Nevada History.

Nevada Historical Society Quarterly

Nevada Historical Society Quarterly
PDF of each volume, 1957-2009.
NHSQ site
All NHSQ newsletters and announcements, video lectures, e-cards and more
Index to the publications of the Nevada Historical Society
Print index
Nevada Historical Society Quarterly print holdings at UNLV
Print issues of NHSQ, including 2010-current.
more...less...
Each volume is indexed in a print indexed published in the next volume. For example, to check the index for the four issues of volume 43 published in 2000, check the contents of vol 44 (2001) for the cumulative index of the previous year.)
Nevada Historical Society Quarterly (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Indexed with abstracts in America: History and Life, full text not included.

Constitution & Laws

THE CONSTITUTION OF THE STATE OF NEVADA
State constitution
Nevada Revised Statutes
State laws
Clark County Code
Political History of Nevada
Elected officials, legislative districts, and all kinds of historical Nevada political information.

Historical State Publications

Historical Nevada state publications
Digital copies of publications produced by Nevada government agencies.

Nevada Test Site

Nevada Test Site Oral History project
Documenting, preserving and disseminating the remembered past of persons affiliated with and affected by the Nevada Test Site during the era of Cold War nuclear testing.
National Atomic Testing Museum
Nevada National Security Administration Library
Historical Test Films from the NNSA

Congressional Publications (ProQuest Congressional) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1789-
U.S. legislative information, including access to many full-text Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, committee information, and more. Includes the U.S. Serial Set.
Comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information, including access to many full-text Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, committee information, and more. Additionally, searchers can retrieve CIS Legislative Histories for public laws. Contains an index of congressional publications from 1789 to the present and locate information about members and committees. Statutes at Large and Congressional Indexes from 1789-1969 are included.

Early Atomic History: A Timeline by Sid Trevethan
Selected quotations and extensive bibliography of key works in the political and technical history of the first generation of atomic research.
Index to Early Atomic History: A Timeline
Subject index of quotations listed in Trevethan's bibliography.

Annotated microform list

Nevada microform notes
Subject list of Nevada related microfilm sets, some with notes about reel contents

Microfilm cabinets and readers

Manuscript census microfilm is available in the film cabinets at the call number range beginning HA. These cabinets are near the entrance to the Graduate Commons on the second floor of Lied.

You can read the film at the microform reader stations on the second floor in the northeast corner.

Nevada history digital collections

Photographs from UNLV Libraries Special Collections
Online photos of Nevada and Nevadans.
UNLV Libraries Special Collections Portal
Explore sources from UNLV Libraries Special Collections that are available online, including material about Howard Hughes, showgirls, dining menus, water management, maps and the landscape and more.
Nevada State Museum, Las Vegas Online Collections
Online collections include Helen Stewart papers, Benny Binion papers, Volunteer Fire Department archives, and thousands of photos.
Nevada State Museum, Carson City Online Collections
Images of objects from Navajo, Hopi, and Ancestral Pueblo cultures.
University of Nevada, Reno digital collections
Browse list of all UNR digital collections, including oral histories, photos, and maps.
Journals of Alfred Doten
Buckaroos in Paradise: Ranching Culture in Northern Nevada, 1945-1982 - (American Memory from the Library of Congress)
The Buckaroos in Paradise Collection presents documentation of a Nevada cattle-ranching community, with a focus on the family-run Ninety-Six Ranch. An archive of 2,400 still photographs, 41 motion pictures, and 28 sound recordings that tell the story of life and work on the Ninety-Six Ranch and of its cowboys, known in the region as buckaroos.
Nevada State Library historical collections online
Historical government reports on schools, mining, and many other topics
Online Nevada Encyclopedia
Essays and exhibits about Nevada history.
Nye County History
Oral histories, list of films featuring Nye County, and much more.

Historical maps of Nevada

Southern Nevada and Las Vegas History in Maps
The maps selected for this digital project document the cartographic history and context of the American West, the American Southwest, Nevada, and Southern Nevada, telescoping in scale from the Western Hemisphere to the streets of Las Vegas.
Nevada Sanborn Maps (UNR)
Includes 1923 Las Vegas maps
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps
Library of Congress digital images of city maps from Nevada in the 19th and early 20th centuries.
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps on microfilm
Film located in second floor microfilm cases; use readers on the first floor.
Nevada in Maps (UNR)
Motorland
(1930s?) travel guide for Nevada published by California State Automobile Association.

Historical Nevada Newspapers by County

Carson City (formerly Ormsby County, 1861-1969)

Churchill

Clark

Goodsprings Gazette, 1916-1919
Henderson Home News, 1949-
Las Vegas Age (1905-1947)
via Chronicling America
Las Vegas Age & Las Vegas Times
1905-1947
Browse by date using the list of years at the bottom of the page - the search box at the top will not search within the text of the issues.

Las Vegas Review Journal Archive (1929-1996) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Las Vegas Sun, 1965-1977
available to Las Vegas - Clark County Library District patrons via newspaperarchive.com
Las Vegas Sun (Access Nevada)
- This link opens in a new window
1996-current. Includes scattered issues from 1973-1995 and a single issue from 1957.
about the Las Vegas Age (essay)
about Las Vegas, NV (essay)
Clark County newspapers on microfilm
Clark County newspapers in US Newspaper Directory

Douglas

Elko

Esmeralda

Eureka

Humboldt

Lander

Lincoln

Lyon

Mineral

Nye

Pershing (part of Humboldt County before 1919)

Storey

Washoe

Many Smokes, 1966-1973
Native Nevadan, 1969-1990
- This link opens in a new window
Native Nevadan, 1991-1992
- This link opens in a new window
Reno Gazette-Journal, 1876-2008
- This link opens in a new window
Washoe County newspapers on microfilm
Washoe County newspapers in US Newspaper Directory

White Pine

History